Twin Cam Project for 4g92

3th gear u reached wat speed and rpm then lose to the putra?can fight with putra already nice,becoz we paid the road tax much more cheaper rite?

kob3bryant said:
liki:
it is much more better than b4 already.when the fuel [email protected]/l,with around rm68 for full tank i can run only 330km.the fc by now with old priced fuel i only need rm53 of fuel to run 300km.

Wah!!! wat did u do to ur car and the fuel consumption is way better now...?? plz let me know...bcz im also using a 4G92p egine but my f.c is like hell man!! for the current fuel price, i pump rm35 but only can go for 150km!! almost like a turbo car la. i only did a minor mod on my car only, like...k&n open pod filter, 1.8 g/b(from 1.6 auto to manual).

need some advise to solve this problem...thanks a lot!!:regular_smile:

Yes, i have see through all the pages that posted, is about coverting the sohc to dohc project, and i also know that this is a very successful and good project. But, i'm just asking wat have u done on ur car until ur fuel consumption become better...heheheh..i know i out of the topic.... just seeking some advise only...if can... thanks.

since u have read the posts why can't u figure out the answer yet?ok,the mech told me that my valve seal and so on already broken,i think that might be the coz.is ur car idling ok when cold start?shake or not?be\4 i done this mod,the speed limit adjuster will shake when a/con on(b4 traffic light),but now no more.

e819 said:
yeap.. i did use 91 head instead of 93 head.. its fine witout any leakage.. but damn tired 2 find the rite setting 4 this machine.. but it did serve me well all this long.. tried head 2 head wit putra.. 1 2 3 ok.. 4th gear kena... haha.. ok la 4 below 1k invesment :p.. cheers

wat block u using? 1.8 SOHC? then convert to 1.8DOHC but 4g91 head? nice pickup leh....

kob3bryant said:
kksoon:
finally get my data already,5th gear 2800rpm with100k/h.

if 3k rpm is it aroung 110kmh?
the f/c really depand on the gbox raxio oso....
like my..i remember last time full tank even can reach up to 500km...shit now oni around 420km....coz of the gbox....i suspect...

kob3bryant said:
since u have read the posts why can't u figure out the answer yet?ok,the mech told me that my valve seal and so on already broken,i think that might be the coz.is ur car idling ok when cold start?shake or not?be\4 i done this mod,the speed limit adjuster will shake when a/con on(b4 traffic light),but now no more.

heheh!! im noob here ma, so, cannot figure it out lo...hehehhe!!!

ok, my car idling when cold start, not so good lo, the rpm will be around 1.5k to 2k lo...and need times up to 5 min or more to be idle around 1k. but the engine didn't shake that much la, just like normal.

anyway!! thanks kob3bryant for ur advise. hope i can find the problem soon. heehee ...

1 more thing, the dohc head that u are using now is a 1.8 dohc head rite, and this head is it the same like the putra or sgti 1???

spyderslr & joe_mivec,

No offence to voice up my dissatisfaction. You think I'm posting a reply simply to bash your guys. Come on, why should I do like this. Wasting my time only.

You thought I'm driving nissan sentra ah? You're wrong leh. My car was Proton Wira 1.6XLi A/B, like what E819 senior member did, was using 4G91 head instead of 93 head. Same with him, no any leakage, damn tired to find the rite setting for this machine.

The distributor always kong, timing couldn't tune and match properly. Cable always short circuit. Like what a member said, NA lag. Hopefully the senior member understand my purpose was not kacau at here, is find a solution. Basic info about the problem:

4G91 DOHC Headcam (Carburator, which use distributor), 4G92P Bottom Block
4G91 Distributor and Plug Cable
Stock 4G92P wiring remain
Stock 4G92P ECU
4G91 Gearbox w/4G91 TCU

Problem annoying me:
- Valve tappet sound, tek-tek like diesel, died spot, cannot cure.
- Distributor always give problem, press hard on acceleraotr, the car shake like short circuit, but normal foot, it was ok
- Timing not stable as I can monitor through my RPM meter. RPM can be like sudden drop to 400rpm goes up a bit then went down again to 500rpm and slowly go back to normal.
- PUT device or ECU device detect the diagnosetic code always come out an error which the error was wrong reading or not accurate (e.g. the speed sensor was working the ECU said faulty)

lol..tats y ppl dun reco 4g91head nowaday coz many prob...

4g93head would b more stable...

jeremylee81:
yes same with putra/sgti.

pciericagp:
wat is valve tappet sound?recently,when i start engine, a weird sound coming out.dri-dri-dri for a few sec.is this the one u mentioned?

Yup, that's the one. As what the mechanic who service for my car recently said, the engine oil must be thicker or at least 15W/50 with a can of oil treatment to reduce the hydraulic lifter sound or tappet sound. The hydraulic lifter for my car was fixed position, unadjustable. It sounded frequently when you start your engine at the morning until the engine oil was hot or enough to lubricant the hydraulic lifter.

That's why service centre in PROTON was using PETRONAS MACH5 20W/50 to service the Perdana V6 but not synthetic oil.

He final comment that the best and cheap way to cut off the problem was restore back to original SOHC.

pciericagp:
brother, 4G91 head on a 4G92 bottom is already a known problem causer....u just got the wrong recipe for the 'rojak' job of a 4G92 DOHC......4G92 DOHC in original form is not tat bad as engine as u described earlier......n if u say the FC is bad, i've seen a few properly 'rojak-ed' 4G92 DOHC wif light mods clocking in very very respectable FC.....

well,my problem dun really occur everytime.after 3 weeks of mod,i heard this around 2 or 3 times only.n which i think should be alright.

spydersir:
may i know wat is the light mods that u mentioned?really care about that.

light mods = air filter, spark plug cables, exhaust, mildly polished cylinder heads....

kob3bryant: hehe, saw ur engine mod quite good, i also intended to do this, buying head in progress, plus mivec piston, metal gasket, gti manifold, and tb, but need do slowly, pocket can't tahan, i think need till jun baru siap..haha..

spyderslr said:
pciericagp:
brother, 4G91 head on a 4G92 bottom is already a known problem causer....u just got the wrong recipe for the 'rojak' job of a 4G92 DOHC......4G92 DOHC in original form is not tat bad as engine as u described earlier......n if u say the FC is bad, i've seen a few properly 'rojak-ed' 4G92 DOHC wif light mods clocking in very very respectable FC.....

my 1 is 4G92 bottom wf 4G93 head.....fc now full tank can go around 420km...is it ok? some times got rev a bit....:_:
any 1 same like my rojak? coz need to ask about the timing belt...using wat model n how many gigi? how much? going to change oledi..hehehe....

the 4G92 DOHC i mentioned all r using 4G93 DOHC heads....as long as its 4G92 DOHC and above, it should b fine.....try play aroun wif the camshafts as well.... =)......not sure bout timing belt, but shouldnt b tat hard to get coz Mitsu does produce a 4G92 DOHC frm the factory.... =)...

kksoon:
the price of timing belt is around RM250.

spyderslr:;
wat do u really mean by playing around with the camshaft?hi cam?i think the next stage for my mod would be the metal gasket,a cheap mod.and i wan to look for the banana and snail to live together with my engine.

spyderslr,
actually my timing belt putus @ 2004 when the time i was using 4G91 head (luckily jus the head rosak oni during the incident happen), then manage to get the 4G93 head (GTI) to attach to my local 4G92P (SOHC). but during the installation...my mech. can find any timing belt tat suitable 4 my engine, mean now i'm using 153 gear but the cam pulley possition cannot match the arrow place...jus cant manage to adjust it....now running out about half of gear.....mayb cos of tis...feel my car is abit lack of power....if possible...any 1 please provide me the timing belt info (like wat brand, model, gear) so tat can use tat during my nex timing belt changing....thanks in advance!!

kob3bryant,
possible ask ur mech about the timing belt info? like how many gigi/gear, brand, model....
ur mech got any local 4g92 gbox for sale?
thanks in advance!!

any 1 know is it good to use Mit. 4G91 gearbox @ 4G92p with 4G93 head (wat gearbox u guys currently using now?)? coz my car feel like power lock by the 4g15 gearbox i'm using now....if my current gearbox fix into local 1.3 / 1.5, i think will be very good pick-up for those engine...but not suitable 4 my engine...thinking of selling it off to get better top end speed gearbox.....like 4G91/92/93 gearbox.