4age Recommended trumpets.

try this 1st..

take out the original trumpet & put back the plenum..

i'm currently using this setup.. good respond & easier to start in d morning

plus its free.. if u DIY..

:biggrin:

Hi D7zul,

yea i've tried that before and my mech said that its not advisable, as the air intake wouldn't be even. so it makes the 1st throttle to work more than the rest... not sure ...still noob...

Hi D7zul,

yea i've tried that before and my mech said that its not advisable, as the air intake wouldn't be even. so it makes the 1st throttle to work more than the rest... not sure ...still noob...

serious?!!

i've been having problems to start my car in d morning.. always cranks 3 times to start..

after i take out the trumpet.. it starts at 1st crank..

is ur mech using a 20v???

:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 01:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:41 PM ----------

d last time i tried the trumpets on, my car performance dropped drastically. Acceleration was like crap, so i removed it immediately. I think you need a bit of tuning after installing the trumpets to get the most out of the 20v?? I know mine performs worse than a 1.0 kelisa..just by installing the trumpet without any tuning.

u using trumpet with or without the plenum?

serious?!!
i've been having problems to start my car in d morning.. always cranks 3 times to start..
after i take out the trumpet.. it starts at 1st crank..
is ur mech using a 20v???
:hmmmm:

Stock trumpet, won't affect morning start mood le. I always first crank then "up".. :biggrin:

Check following possible areas of your morning mood problem:
1) Throttle opening screw setting is out
2) Throttle opener faulty
3) ECU

Anyway, to add a little about the trumpet... diff length of trumpets resonance at diff range of RPM. For more details in theory, check with Acoustic Chin (who already missing fr zth for long time :biggrin:). So If you like linear response, from 4k to 8k, then stick to stock trumpet. If you wants more acceleration after 5k, then you can consider the after market trumpet with diff length. But as your know, once you selected a short trumpet that resonance at high RPM, it mean your low RPM will become turtle. So choose it with purpose.
Not to forget, same goes to type of exhaust. Always compliment both, intake and exhaust.

friend of mine..
using bt stock only put emanage & sflow & i-mec trumpet..
can get 8hp extra after install i-mec (dyno tune)
now he smile & others friend say f*** last time why i did not buy from u..ha ha

Stock trumpet, won't affect morning start mood le. I always first crank then "up".. :biggrin:

Check following possible areas of your morning mood problem:
1) Throttle opening screw setting is out
2) Throttle opener faulty
3) ECU

Anyway, to add a little about the trumpet... diff length of trumpets resonance at diff range of RPM. For more details in theory, check with Acoustic Chin (who already missing fr zth for long time :biggrin:). So If you like linear response, from 4k to 8k, then stick to stock trumpet. If you wants more acceleration after 5k, then you can consider the after market trumpet with diff length. But as your know, once you selected a short trumpet that resonance at high RPM, it mean your low RPM will become turtle. So choose it with purpose.
Not to forget, same goes to type of exhaust. Always compliment both, intake and exhaust.

Maybe i accidentally touch the screws while opening the trumpet..

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

Just to share, for those whom plan to DIY the trumpets using stainless steel cups you can get the flange from exhaust shops. Get 4 of them and weld the cups to the flanges and you have your very own el' cheapo trumpets ;)

I've also noticed that open trumpets are often used in racetracks overseas, but in Malaysia (prolly due to hot weather) I noticed MME track cars with 20v retains back its original plenum (and also air box) and still able to come out top in the race. However, most drift cars with 20v prefer to use open trumpet because the plenum is usually too big to fit in and also RWD setup with open trumpet will have colder air intake compared to FWD with open trumpet.

i also use short open trumpet made by mamak cup.. with a help from full exhaust system, i feel the throttle is smoother..more pickup n da sound, aahhh..(i drive w/out radio ON hehe)

some strange information on here. If a car runs in any better way without trumpets then something is very wrong. Changing to a better trumpet design should not give just top end power and can give a power gain everywhere. The original 20V trumpets are quite a compromised design to fit into the space and with enough room and the same length trumpets or longer then there should be gains overall.

The whole shorter trumpets means more high end power is wrong as well, sure that's what the theory is however in real world use multiple people have found that running longer trumpets on a 20V has caused a gain up in the top end. This is why in the same books it says the formula can only be used as a starting point for real world testing.

Choosing the diameter is simple, just match the inside diameter to the inside of the thottle opening, otherwise if you have any steps you will have turbulence and unever intake pulese. The ideal shape is a full bellmouth with a gentle tappered inlet from the tip to the thottle opening, I think by memory 7 degree is correct. However I myself am using home made straight pipe with just flared ends and am still making good power- particularly down low. I can show a picture if wanted but as a warning it doesn't look very nice.

I agree, you should see how bad my car looks!

Heres what I made:

airbox2.jpg

airbox1.jpg

airbox3.jpg

Right hand drive powering the rear wheels, I have no intake noise at all which for me personally I like. But most of all my torque curve is dead flat for a very large part of the rev range and I can go up any grade of hill at 2500RPM so I am happy.

yes very ghetto! it was only ever meant to be a temporary design, had I of known I would of ended up keeping it I would of made more of an effort to make it wider with smoother contours. The ends of the pipes come a bit too close to the inside walls for my likely but the colour of the spark plugs are all the same colour and the power + torque is definately there so more by accident than anything else I managed to make something that works really well.

yikes....looks like its about to transform into something...nice DIY though...you might consider fixing bt oem rubber trumpet...in stock position its already curved downwards...fix it upside down...maybe need to cut a bit...and since it is rubber it might flex abit to fit inside the plenum...

the stock trumpets are pretty bad and my clutch master completely stops the fourth trumpet going in. My original plan was to have very long trumpets curved down into a low mount airbox, however I have since been informed it's very bad for power to have curved trumpets.What I have now is only a gentle bend so it shouldn't be too bad. Also I forgot to mention these are the same length as stock, we as far as I remember anyway, I made this many years now.

Oh and this is how it was hooked up at the time:

topcoilmount1.jpg

this was when I still had ignition leads and a stock ECU which are both thankfully long gone.

Anyway enough about me anyone else have their experiences to share?

i think this setup is more powerful..

• 4 throttle.jpg
    4 throttle.jpg
    139.6 KB · Views: 439
powerful fact can be clearly proof by dyno machine

or

driver feeling like pull force.. haahahahhahah

good luck bro