need advise n feedbacks about brakes.

WPQ800

Hello forumers,

i want to ask few questions with regards to brake system....
Q1. why is it that my right hand side brake produce less dust than my left hand side? (front brakes)
Q2. if so, how do i resolve this issue?

FYI im using gsr brakes (caliper + disc) which bought from chop shop. running with ebc pads, steel braided hoses, original waja knuckle to retain my abs, original waja brake pump n other brake parts original waja. Before install i have also serviced the brakes n dispose the old pads. So far its working great, just the sight of the dust makes me wonder......:confused: (check images attached)

Also one more question....let say i sell off this caliper n disc, i plan to get evo3 or evo4 twinport for my car.....
Q1. is it worth to go for it? ill be adding more weight to the already heavy waja....
Q2. can i retain my waja knuckle n just use the disc and caliper n bracket? (again to retain my abs)
Q3. what is the biggest disc size and caliper that i can install to my 15 inch rim? (i want it to look full inside the rim......)
Q4. instead of mitsu parts, there are also toyota/nissan brakes in the market too.... how do i custom them to fit, where and how much to do so?
Q5. will i be able to retain my knuckle and all other parts except for the disc, caliper and bracket?

FYI: im using ssr type-c, 15j x 7j x offset +30 x 114.3 x 4H

hope sifus here can help.......:smokin:

• right2.JPG
    right2.JPG
    188.5 KB · Views: 331
  • left2.JPG
    left2.JPG
    181.4 KB · Views: 349
Hello forumers,

Q1. why is it that my right hand side brake produce less dust than my left hand side? (front brakes)

FYI im using gsr brakes (caliper + disc) which bought from chop shop. running with ebc pads, steel braided hoses, original waja knuckle to retain my abs, original waja brake pump n other brake parts original waja. Before install i have also serviced the brakes n dispose the old pads. So far its working great, just the sight of the dust makes me wonder......:confused: (check images attached)

Also one more question....let say i sell off this caliper n disc, i plan to get evo3 or evo4 twinport for my car.....
Q1. is it worth to go for it? ill be adding more weight to the already heavy waja....
Q2. can i retain my waja knuckle n just use the disc and caliper n bracket? (again to retain my abs)
Q3. what is the biggest disc size and caliper that i can install to my 15 inch rim? (i want it to look full inside the rim......)
Q4. instead of mitsu parts, there are also toyota/nissan brakes in the market too.... how do i custom them to fit, where and how much to do so?
Q5. will i be able to retain my knuckle and all other parts except for the disc, caliper and bracket?

For your brakes, check by touching the rims after a run, whether your left rims are hotter then your right rims. If they are, either your floating pin is dirty therefore caliper cannot return fully, or the brake piston are dirty and not returning fully so your pads are still in contact with the disc rotor.
Servicing the pin or the piston (find the fault first) will solved this problem.

For your brake upgrade, how big is the Evo3 or 4 disc rotor combine with the caliper. I see that you are on 15" rims only and they might not be big enough to clear the bigger rotor/caliper. Another problem that can crop up is whether the current vacuum servo is big enough to fully run this bigger brakes. Moreover are the current brakes good enough, because when the brakes becomes too strong, tendency of locking the brakes is more dangerous (Is the car equipped with ABS?)

For your brakes, check by touching the rims after a run, whether your left rims are hotter then your right rims. If they are, either your floating pin is dirty therefore caliper cannot return fully, or the brake piston are dirty and not returning fully so your pads are still in contact with the disc rotor.
Servicing the pin or the piston (find the fault first) will solved this problem.

For your brake upgrade, how big is the Evo3 or 4 disc rotor combine with the caliper. I see that you are on 15" rims only and they might not be big enough to clear the bigger rotor/caliper. Another problem that can crop up is whether the current vacuum servo is big enough to fully run this bigger brakes. Moreover are the current brakes good enough, because when the brakes becomes too strong, tendency of locking the brakes is more dangerous (Is the car equipped with ABS?)

ok, will do the checking later..... how often do we need to service the brakes?

well, as for evo3 brakes, even std evo3 is using 15 inch rims... but when installed to a 15 inch theres enough gap that i can see between caliper and rim (around 1inch plus).... thats why im looking for sumtin to fill up the spaces.... like those gtr n all.....hahaha can custom fabricate ka?

q1. yes but of course..make sure brake cylinder/servo etc is up to par for the upgrade....evo4 dont think can fit 15" but not sure.

q2. depending on wat u get... yes... otherwise, custom the bracket

q3. if u want that kinda look... branded brakes like willwood, ap racing etc is best. brakes from other cars usually will have that gap... as for biggest... evo3 i guess..unless evo4 can fit

q4. brackets need to custom... a good workshop thats used to doing mods should be able to know where to custom the bracket. how much about 3-400. if u use non-mitsu parts...theres a possibility that u have to custom the brake hose oso coz the fittings might be different

q5. should be

i have seen an earlier version of evo4 that comes with 4 holes...... but dunno the size, whether same as evo3 or not.....

ok, will do the checking later..... how often do we need to service the brakes?

well, as for evo3 brakes, even std evo3 is using 15 inch rims... but when installed to a 15 inch theres enough gap that i can see between caliper and rim (around 1inch plus).... thats why im looking for sumtin to fill up the spaces.... like those gtr n all.....hahaha can custom fabricate ka?

Well, normally can last pretty long, like a few years, or until you have problems like now. If you let it go on, the left brake pads will wear out faster. But it is recommended to change brake fluid once every 1 to 2 years.
Oh! Evo 3 brake rotor so small only? Well, probably you need to check the brake size before you can upgrade them in. Some people use the existing calipers but use a bigger disc rotor then extend the bracket, so still get to use bigger rotor......your car engine have been upgraded??

Hello forumers,

your wheels spec fits nicely for nissan R32 4 pot (not GTR). that is the biggest that u can put in your 15". one of my friend currently using it, with 15" black racing pro N1. Left just a little gap only.

there are other 4 pots that might fit your wheels. but they are smaller than R32 in terms of disc diameter and as well as the caliper itself. Mazda (forgot the name) and toyota aristo

since your car is proton waja...if u insist on going for the R32 4 pots, u gonna have to custom made a bracket to fit the caliper and drill extra holes for the PCD since it comes in 5 x 114.3.

your wheels spec fits nicely for nissan R32 4 pot (not GTR). that is the biggest that u can put in your 15". one of my friend currently using it, with 15" black racing pro N1. Left just a little gap only.

there are other 4 pots that might fit your wheels. but they are smaller than R32 in terms of disc diameter and as well as the caliper itself. Mazda (forgot the name) and toyota aristo

since your car is proton waja...if u insist on going for the R32 4 pots, u gonna have to custom made a bracket to fit the caliper and drill extra holes for the PCD since it comes in 5 x 114.3.

woah, nice.... bro, ur friend using what car? im interested lo.... besides custom fitting the caliper n drill new holes, can i retain the knuckles?:confused: how bout the brake pump n all bro? aiyo, seriously i wanna know....:bawling:

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:54 AM ----------

Well, normally can last pretty long, like a few years, or until you have problems like now. If you let it go on, the left brake pads will wear out faster. But it is recommended to change brake fluid once every 1 to 2 years.
Oh! Evo 3 brake rotor so small only? Well, probably you need to check the brake size before you can upgrade them in. Some people use the existing calipers but use a bigger disc rotor then extend the bracket, so still get to use bigger rotor......you can engine have been upgraded??

yes my engine have been modded.... and recently i starts to feels that my braking power is no longer sufficient during high speed runs..... bro can u explain about enlarging disc size n use existing caliper pls..... will it increase my braking power?:smokin:

woah, nice.... bro, ur friend using what car? im interested lo.... besides custom fitting the caliper n drill new holes, can i retain the knuckles?:confused: how bout the brake pump n all bro? aiyo, seriously i wanna know....:bawling:

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:54 AM ----------

yes my engine have been modded.... and recently i starts to feels that my braking power is no longer sufficient during high speed runs..... bro can u explain about enlarging disc size n use existing caliper pls..... will it increase my braking power?:smokin:

If you fit those disc rotor with 5 lugs, you will need to change rims also. To convert to 4 lugs your offset will be changed.

Braking system works hand in hand. That was why I did mention whether your vacuum servo can work with a larger disc upgrade in the first place. I had one friend on old Triple S with turbo engine, then he source a big brake kit to fit in, but the existing servo did not help much so he had to upgrade that also.
Regarding the extension kit, I saw only but owner did mention it helps. Probably because the pads are now stopping the disc at the outer end which is more efficient.
About your current brake, how about the pads upgrade?? Maybe a better pads will help rather then change to bigger disc?
For me, I just transferred the original twin port brakes from the original VR4 half cut to my ride. Fits correctly as my Car body is the same. Vacuum servo was transferred too and using Bendix Metal King Titanium pads. So far working well and running on 17" with 45 series tyres.
Your original Waja brake pump is how big? I found out they have various sizes for Proton models, maybe you can source for the largest one which will also help. My mitsu also uses some Proton parts.

If you fit those disc rotor with 5 lugs, you will need to change rims also. To convert to 4 lugs your offset will be changed.

Braking system works hand in hand. That was why I did mention whether your vacuum servo can work with a larger disc upgrade in the first place. I had one friend on old Triple S with turbo engine, then he source a big brake kit to fit in, but the existing servo did not help much so he had to upgrade that also.
Regarding the extension kit, I saw only but owner did mention it helps. Probably because the pads are now stopping the disc at the outer end which is more efficient.
About your current brake, how about the pads upgrade?? Maybe a better pads will help rather then change to bigger disc?
For me, I just transferred the original twin port brakes from the original VR4 half cut to my ride. Fits correctly as my Car body is the same. Vacuum servo was transferred too and using Bendix Metal King Titanium pads. So far working well and running on 17" with 45 series tyres.
Your original Waja brake pump is how big? I found out they have various sizes for Proton models, maybe you can source for the largest one which will also help. My mitsu also uses some Proton parts.

not sure how big is my servo.... when i swapped to my gsr brakes, i only took the gsr caliper n gsr disc... currently im using ebc yellow stuff 600/800deg pads..... i think it is sufficient.... its just when compared to my inspira 2.0 stock brakes, my waja brakes quite harsh n need more effort at controlling the steering, etc when stopping or braking at let say 160km/h and above..... why? is it because inspira is using twinport? is it because of the EBD equipped in inspira? hmmmmm can i upgrade to inspira front brakes then?

and also i want to have the full disc look at front like those power2 car..... hahaha:listen:

hmmmmm can i upgrade to inspira front brakes then?

i think no need to upgrade your brake more...unless u really need it...

maybe u can sourced another rim that fits nicely to your preferences??? :adore:

my 1.6 proton's brake fits nicely to my 15" rim.....with every space filled by disc and caliper....so looks solid (even it is small) :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:32 AM ----------

my 1.6 proton's brake fits nicely to my 15" rim.....with every space filled by disc and caliper....so looks solid (even it is small) :biggrin:

not sure how big is my servo.... when i swapped to my gsr brakes, i only took the gsr caliper n gsr disc... currently im using ebc yellow stuff 600/800deg pads..... i think it is sufficient.... its just when compared to my inspira 2.0 stock brakes, my waja brakes quite harsh n need more effort at controlling the steering, etc when stopping or braking at let say 160km/h and above..... why? is it because inspira is using twinport? is it because of the EBD equipped in inspira? hmmmmm can i upgrade to inspira front brakes then?

and also i want to have the full disc look at front like those power2 car..... hahaha:listen:

hmmmmm can i upgrade to inspira front brakes then?

Woh! already on Yellow stuff, I thought you may have used Green only. Yup, yellow stuff already track grade. I wanted to try before, but after looking at the price I decide not.....ha! ha!
Okay, when you mention harsh and need to control the steering, closest meaning? not slowing down, not good bite, steering vibration or what? As far as I know yellow stuff bites better when hot.

---------- Post added at 10:45 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 AM ----------

He wants better braking also plus looks......:driver:

Woh! already on Yellow stuff, I thought you may have used Green only. Yup, yellow stuff already track grade. I wanted to try before, but after looking at the price I decide not.....ha! ha!
Okay, when you mention harsh and need to control the steering, closest meaning? not slowing down, not good bite, steering vibration or what? As far as I know yellow stuff bites better when hot.

---------- Post added at 10:45 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 AM ----------

He wants better braking also plus looks......:driver:

yup, koyak also to pay for the yellow stuff..... well braking is good, just that steering vibrates, and tarik to the left.... so have to always correct the steering...... as far as current performance of my brakes.... im quite happy lo.... even better if i can eliminate the vibration n the tarik kiri thingy....

and of course i want the nice looks of disc brake fully filiing up the space/gap in my rims..... then it will look super cun....:driver:

yup, koyak also to pay for the yellow stuff..... well braking is good, just that steering vibrates, and tarik to the left.... so have to always correct the steering...... as far as current performance of my brakes.... im quite happy lo.... even better if i can eliminate the vibration n the tarik kiri thingy....

and of course i want the nice looks of disc brake fully filiing up the space/gap in my rims..... then it will look super cun....:driver:

Then probably the left side biting more or getting jam and for the vibration I suspect your disc rotor warp already. Check and if if still thick, then go for skimming. If thin already then need to change....might as well upgrade.....

how to check bro? anything i can do to adjust the brake balance? is the answer service the brakes? when u say upgrade it means upgrade the disc or the brake system? your current twinport or evo3 twinport, is it a good upgrade bro?

woah, nice.... bro, ur friend using what car? im interested lo.... besides custom fitting the caliper n drill new holes, can i retain the knuckles? how bout the brake pump n all bro? aiyo, seriously i wanna know....

NISSAN N13. your knuckle can be retain (that's why i told u to drill it to 4 x 114.3)

how to check bro? anything i can do to adjust the brake balance? is the answer service the brakes? when u say upgrade it means upgrade the disc or the brake system? your current twinport or evo3 twinport, is it a good upgrade bro?

if both caliper and disc came from same model (left right) i don't think the brake balance between left and right would be a problem is the caliper and disc in good condition...

first..try service your brake....during service a person could detect the problem (brake jam one side/caliper pin stuck or anything that cause it)

also can properly check disc surface condition during that....

regarding your steering vibrate and constantly pulling left i think its due to improper wheel balancing and alignment....

to add your suspicious to the brake caliper...then lets say after any trip (short or long) first thing to check after u stop is your brake..by touch the rim area with your palm....if one side brake jam u'll feel that the jammed side would be hotter than the other side.... :adore:

Almost same to bro. pomen reply for some areas......
For uneven braking and in case one side is jamming up, look at brake dust on the front wheel. If one side has more brake dust then the other after one week use, is sign of brake pads binding. Another will be after a run like from office back home, immediately touch the rims. If one side is hotter then the other another sign of pads binding. Pads binding can be either the floating pin dirty or the piston jamming up by dirt/rust. Then only thing to be done is to clean service these two areas.....

Steering vibration can be either from warp disc rotor or even the uneven braking. Have to check.
If from uneven braking then after cleaning/service the brakes then should be okay. If not, then rotor needs to be skimmed. But for skimming rotor need to be thick. Check for minimum thickness. If too thin then need to change. This is where I ask you to upgrade, meaning since need to change might as well upgrade.....

tengkiu all bros.....appreciate ur feedbacks.... expert la u all.....