4 throttle in 4g93

using mivec, cam spec as follows:

duration low cam lift
intake 228 7.58mm
exhaust 232 8.24mm

duration high cam lift
intake 285 10.41mm
exhaust 300 9.83mm

Using high compression 0.4mm metal gasket.

Hmm.. what total runner length u think is suitable for my cams?
red line is 8250, maybe i can push to 9000,.. but i'm not going any further than that. so the powerband i want is a good swoop around 4.5-9k

hmm i shall experiment with a pvc runner first b4 attempting to fabricate real ones

Sorry i cannot advise you on runner length,,since you doing it with someone else. However if you're running on 1.6 , a balanced engine with a right berings should be ok to run 9000rpm. You cannot do a test pipe on PVC for runner, but you can do it on a trumpets (which is weird),,,try do a test pipe with white steel that will do the job.

V8_nutter said:
Dont beleive what they show you in the internet,,,the secret of 4 throttle is not base on what ppl "guess" or what they "think" it will do,,,it is more in depth than that. Ppl talk about lenth and size which is the "branch" of the whole system but the "real" thing they keep upon themself.

I agree with wat v8_nutter said, reading upon internet will let u have the idea on how u must do ur setup, but overseas or aftermarket ITB's those r design for specific engine which u must have some mods to fulfil the requirements to use the aftermarket ITB...rite now in Malaysia we r juz customizing everything, doin our own R&D which we dunno whether d thing works well or not..

leftfoot, i know tat u got a smooth finish inside the adaptor but how u r goin to know tat the airflow will be the same or smooth?In ngai seng u don have the flow bench machine to test the airflow, doin tis ITB will have a lot of R&D n customizing work, be prepare v a bit of cash more in case anything happen, i'm very happy to c a hardcore NA kakis like u! Happy modding:shades_smile:

V8_nutter said:
Sorry i cannot advise you on runner length,,since you doing it with someone else. However if you're running on 1.6 , a balanced engine with a right berings should be ok to run 9000rpm. You cannot do a test pipe on PVC for runner, but you can do it on a trumpets (which is weird),,,try do a test pipe with white steel that will do the job.

i understand,.. hmm.. im learning on the go here.. trying to find experience also. other ppls experience also important to me, not that i accept them to be true for me entirely but everything counts to me..

hmm one more thing that i know of ppl in the states/europe,. is that they'r eager to help others honestly.. and in everything, hence the opensource word was born and knowledgebase systems,.. not just software but also hardware (megasquirt).

V8_nutter said:
Sorry i cannot advise you on runner length,,since you doing it with someone else
I may not know u, but the fact that ur picking ppl to help and not to is just utter nonsense to this thread. If ur not going to help me bcoz ur not part of my project, then theres no place for u to even be in my thread. u could just stay quiet and say nothing or give usefull advice. with that kind of attitude, then ur useless in this thread, or in my opinion, this forum..

my advice is u can just be in the marketplace of this forum, and not in this diy section,. let alone my thread. y? coz u cant help ppl, y? coz their not doing things with u..

hey bro...cool down..

as for MS case, actually im very supprise, they hav everything on thier webpage tat u even can build ur own if u hav enof electrical knowledge (even the board design), but heck they r still gettin business cos they r not expensive.

if i can get the V3 board, i can get others parts here, but they come in partial kits....darn.....hate the tax!

xtorm said:
hey bro...cool down..

as for MS case, actually im very supprise, they hav everything on thier webpage tat u even can build ur own if u hav enof electrical knowledge (even the board design), but heck they r still gettin business cos they r not expensive.

if i can get the V3 board, i can get others parts here, but they come in partial kits....darn.....hate the tax!

i was informed that the microprossesor, VB921 Ignition Coil Driver and the MPX4250 MAP Sensor cannot be found here, so ur better off ordering them. theyr $98 for the partial kit. oh that includes the v3 board ofcourse.. tax? below rm500 is exempted for EMS products, that, i was told by the customs official.

there are ways to dodge tax in a safe way.. u are afterall buidling the thing urself,.. for self use, and educational moreover. u could declare them as 'computer components', they are nothing different that computer components to be honest, at least to them. that was how i didnt pay mine. :)

anything computer related is tax free!
enjoy ur tax free, COMPUTER engine management system! now we'r not bluffing anyone here. :regular_smile: :regular_smile: :regular_smile:

after u got all the components ready,.. tell me how much u spend altogether with most of the components obtained locally,.. just want to compare. but honestly, getting a complete kit isnt that expensive also.. and less of a hassle. good luck tho xtorm..i assume u have an electronics background???

ya i got some, ms1 and map can get here too, tro farnell.....map around rm66, and ms1 around 44 for a 32k version if not mistaken but there r quite a few version, but we still need the programe. im expecting the component to b less then rm180 with all better or equal quality, and no, its not jalan pasar stuff, if it is, it will b cheaper.so us 98 + rm180, wat i dun hav will b the casing. y the hassle? cos i wana cut the cost, i dun hav much money, DIY!! :P

so under 500 its tax free, good then.

usd98 equals around rm352 ,.. plus180 for local components makes rm532... which is quite ok!!!.. i forgot 1 more thing,.. that 98 ur ordering from the states will cost another 25+ for shipping :)

which now becomes RM623.

well u could also order the black casing for v3,.. which costs $35,.. or rm126, which i got from my kit.

if u do, it will now be rm749 altogether..

and that does not include the sensors required for megasquirt.. they r the CLT and IAT sensors,.. both around $15each..

Assuming ull be ordering them also,.. now becomes (15+15)*3.6(usd)= 108

add that totals to RM857 altogether.

i got my kit which includes all above with additional coil driver ($5) and heatsink($5) for RM960 which includes shipping and insurance.

if u also got exactly what i got,.. its going to be RM857 with some parts obtained locally,.. which is a saving of rm103,..

well its not much unless ur going to build your own casing, using stock CLT and IAT sensors or ones u can get here and recalibrate them to work with MS,..
by that ull save another RM234,..

asumming u build ur own casing,.. but order the sensors online,..
thats going to be 623+108 = RM731..

$731 for MS1 pcb version 3,.. not bad..

have u got the partial kit?? once everything is in order, do let me know...
good luck in building ur 1st megasquirt!!! :regular_smile:

they only reason i wish to use local component is bcos of the tax :P

btw, 25usd regardless of weight?

Please update more very interested to see the beast running. Am also in the KL area so definitely want to take a look. I am currently building my own project Mivec 1.8 it will be very interesting to see what you have done with your mods.

Keep us posted on any dyno days that would be fantastic for others to come and see a one of a kind mod.

As of now, configuring the wiring for megasquirt. Everything is tested on PC but yet to intall in the car.. (engine harness being taken out of car) Hopefully installation of ecu will happen within this week. to get it running at least.

Hmm.. did the vaccum canistor. no pics yet..
My project is a bit slow cause i'm doing 2 things at the same time (transplant mivec engine) now everything is in place and ready for Megasquirt and some sensors.

more pics to come..

Good news. this morning the car came alive! megasquirt is awesome! altho just tuned for idling, cant wait for it to leave the workshop! :) . some minor setbacks to be delt with. hopefully tomorrow it will be ready for tuning..

hmmmm
i would be very interesting to see how ur car perform against the 1.8mivec or to some extent...the super charger...:_:

i am drooling for ur car adi :_:

congratulation bro!!! muz b really rewarding after all the hastle!

hows the initial drive?

not driven yet.. just idling.. i'm still using temporary intake runner(toyota's plastic that twists). engine bay looks ugly.

07-01-07_1212.jpg

dun forget to hear it idle too!! some minor reving included in the clip.

http://filecargo.com/dw.php?id=1168211686&/1stidle.mp3

The most important thing is that you are happy. Are those going to be your permanent intake runners.... may want to rethink as I don't think you will harvest the best from your conversion. Just my 2 cents.

haha messy it is....

guest u dun mine anymore cos u r overwhelm by the job done :P

i check my injector, seems like mine is fix on the engine block not the intake, well, tat gona made things alot easier if im going tis path :P

H2Zero said:
The most important thing is that you are happy. Are those going to be your permanent intake runners.... may want to rethink as I don't think you will harvest the best from your conversion. Just my 2 cents.

those are just temporary..

2day my fuel line from the fuel filter to fuel rail got a leak on both ends.. :sad_smile:
hopefully will get a new one soon.

wierd thing, my afpr shows 80+. isnt the pressure too big? i thought if i got a leak, it should be less??? anyway.. whats the normal reading?..

cant seem to trim it down, it stays the same..