4G91 Gang..

During this long holiday.....I plan to reset back my sifu setting on CAM Pulley after I confirm my gear box no more slip....wooow....the low end is very responsive as last time BUT high end also not so bad compare last time(guess the effect of light weight crank pulley)....when on the road my car really nice to drive, :)

This morning try to take a video to see where is my powerband....It really give me a hard time to see the improvement on low end from the video...but on the road is obvious....very responsive....my sifu setting is on low end to mid range, but on the road power delivery is noticeable improve especially on mid to high end where no more gear box slip.

below the video I capture this morning when I try to rev the engine to get to know the powerband...but it look like mid range onward become better, but on the road my car really responsive (2000rpm onward) and smoother compare if I try to advance 1 degree on intake cam only...

One more thing I notice when I reset back to my sifu setting is my fuel pressure raise from 38psi to 44psi during idling (Why this can happen....is it Intake Vacuum higher after the setting?)....luckily I check and reduce back to 38psi else FC sure terible

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgrF7Kbfsls

for details on my sifu setting are below
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=1089527&highlight=adjustable+cam+pulley#post1089527

anyone out there have the experience of changing to 93 block and rechip the ecu...i juz wanna noe the outcomes....im tinkin of "tapau" the gti's out there...haha..

hi guys, can anyone tell me how to measure the degree or a cam? i remember someone discussed this before but i couldn't find the post. thanks in advance and one more thing, my engine tapet sound is getting worse and worse... i don know why... my black oil running 2k only... is it because the black oil not suitable? i am running on something called arrox, or things like that... i didn't like it but my mech only got this brand at that moment when i serviced my car. i plan to to change to eneos and c whether the situation is getting better. what is the one that u guys mentioned last time? 10w - 40, or 15w-40? i think i saw both during my last visit, which one is the one to be? or both also can? i also notice the price difference, one is 68 something while the other is 80 plus, which one to go one? thanks in advance guys, really need info urgently.

about the exhaust thingie, agree with ayell. my friend satria piping use original rountine, straight flow, noisy like hell, but still can pass jpj blocks. but if straight piping, means under the fuel tank, out of 10, 9 will kena, the other 1 gets lucky because there already 9 in front, so jpj not free to kacau.

for the changing block thingie, i think straight away change the entire engine to 1.8 is a better choice. the significant differences are including throttle body, intake manifold, cams, and the inhale nd exhale holes in the cylinder head. it is like u are damn thirsty but using a very tiny straw to suck in water... so i don think it is efficient... and talking about rechip ecu, as for my knowledge, there is no chip for 4g91 ecu, u can only extend the rev cut limit... but now i don know la... i am outdated already... :_:

wahahaha... alvin not dat mech do the BOT 4u ha... i simply tembak to attract more ppl for TT.... sorry guys when it cums to TT, i'l do my best to get more members to turn up n make it a success... :biggrin:

rides said:
Hello guys,

Need some advise from u guys...........my friend just bought a car........but the engine is not endorsed by JPJ.........there is no Kastam paper or any other receipt that prove he have bought the engine.........so how is he gonna endorsed the engine..........any suggestion or anyone know how to get ppl to do it?

Thanks........

rides... without AP letter...cannot register 1... if u go potong kereta n ask for to forge a AP letter, it cost more $ then geeting a new block... also think abt the hassle... not easy lar bro... anyway u try ask arnd...
or other way... look for a machine shop which modify the engine no... its a gamble lar but better than yr current situation...

ylkien said:

I am planning to transplant a 4G91 into an 1.3 iswara. May I know whether the engine will be balance after the transplant?

Will the car sway to the right or left (indicating a imbalance) after the transplant? Anyone has experience?

ayell.... pls answer this question lar bro...
when it cums to iswara n carborator, u r the KING...hehehe:X-:

milo said:
hi guys, can anyone tell me how to measure the degree or a cam? i remember someone discussed this before but i couldn't find the post. thanks in advance and one more thing, my engine tapet sound is getting worse and worse... i don know why... my black oil running 2k only... is it because the black oil not suitable? i am running on something called arrox, or things like that... i didn't like it but my mech only got this brand at that moment when i serviced my car. i plan to to change to eneos and c whether the situation is getting better. what is the one that u guys mentioned last time? 10w - 40, or 15w-40? i think i saw both during my last visit, which one is the one to be? or both also can? i also notice the price difference, one is 68 something while the other is 80 plus, which one to go one? thanks in advance guys, really need info urgently.

about the exhaust thingie, agree with ayell. my friend satria piping use original rountine, straight flow, noisy like hell, but still can pass jpj blocks. but if straight piping, means under the fuel tank, out of 10, 9 will kena, the other 1 gets lucky because there already 9 in front, so jpj not free to kacau.

for the changing block thingie, i think straight away change the entire engine to 1.8 is a better choice. the significant differences are including throttle body, intake manifold, cams, and the inhale nd exhale holes in the cylinder head. it is like u are damn thirsty but using a very tiny straw to suck in water... so i don think it is efficient... and talking about rechip ecu, as for my knowledge, there is no chip for 4g91 ecu, u can only extend the rev cut limit... but now i don know la... i am outdated already... :_:

milo... im using eneos rm68 package...gud enuff aredy... but my tappet sound not completely gone like other users.... morning n evening start engine sure got sound 1... but after awhile it dissappears almost completely....
if u read my previous posting abt my cam setting lari 2gigi... after setting it back n replacing newtiming belt.... the sound is completely gone... no sound wat so ever even for a second... strange but true... engine very silent... but no power..hehehe... maybe u can try this method also... kasi retard cam setting 2 gigi... let it run 4 30 mins... then set it back... :biggrin: hahaha...

JPJ exhaust regulation is only 4 straight flow... b'cos it runs under fuel tank... not 4 how loud or big the muffler is... i ask the JPJ officer during my engine registration...

i ask my mech to look 4 93 block wit complete head... he say he got b4 for 800bucks... then change 93 AFsensor n ECU... another 500-600buck... then go register again at JPJ... use runner 600bucks... but i 1 2 try myself first... cannot register then only use runner....
my mech say engine kosong is abt 1.4k likedat ... dunno the condition... pening pening.... need to do more research on this b4 doing...

4G93 engine kosong not so expensive wan la... 1.4k can get 4G93T already loh!! =Þ I remember my mech buying 4G93 complete block for 500 bucks with AP paper summore (for this mivec 1.8 conversion people)... but thats block alone la. Head is worth less than block. So u should be able to get a complete 4G93 engine for under 1k.

4G91 extractor won't fit 4G93 just to let u know... if u're using hotbits or powerzone extractor... those are actually made for 4G93, so if u're running on that, then u could use back ur extractor... otherwise u have to get the 93 extractor as well. =Þ

4G91 radiator is single core... 4G93 is twin core radiator... so its better if u upgrade that as well. =Þ

4G91 meter till 8000rpm... 4G93 rev cut i think around 7.8k rpm... so ALMOST maxing out your meter... so its better if u have the lancer meter that reaches 9000rpm.

4G91 intake manifold and throttle body is going to be pretty restrictive to the 4G93... so better to upgrade those as well...

4G93 brake servo i think bigger than 4G91... so better to upgrade as well...

Better to upgrade braking system... and get rear discs as well...

So many things to upgrade... you see why i always tell people... wanna do a 1.8 conversin from a 4G91... its better to just go get a full halfcut. =Þ people usually only sell 4G93 from GTi/Putra for 2.5-3k... but u're getting so many other things in return... if u buy everything saparate, u think u'll spend less meh? I doubt so.

There's probably a couple more that i missed... =Þ Oh yeah, gearbox, flywheel, etc etc.

partyJOE said:
wahahaha... alvin not dat mech do the BOT 4u ha... i simply tembak to attract more ppl for TT.... sorry guys when it cums to TT, i'l do my best to get more members to turn up n make it a success... :biggrin:

hahaha... the main point of me saying that is not to point out that u're wrong la... wakakak... its just so that u guys know where I did my turbo kit ma. =) hahhaa... i came up with the specs for the setup on my own... so doesn't really matter much where I install it lar... coz' most of the stuffs are pretty much bolt on. =Þ cept the custom intercooler pipings ler of course.

alvin24 said:
4G93 engine kosong not so expensive wan la... 1.4k can get 4G93T already loh!! =Þ I remember my mech buying 4G93 complete block for 500 bucks with AP paper summore (for this mivec 1.8 conversion people)... but thats block alone la. Head is worth less than block. So u should be able to get a complete 4G93 engine for under 1k.

4G91 extractor won't fit 4G93 just to let u know... if u're using hotbits or powerzone extractor... those are actually made for 4G93, so if u're running on that, then u could use back ur extractor... otherwise u have to get the 93 extractor as well. =Þ

4G91 radiator is single core... 4G93 is twin core radiator... so its better if u upgrade that as well. =Þ

4G91 meter till 8000rpm... 4G93 rev cut i think around 7.8k rpm... so ALMOST maxing out your meter... so its better if u have the lancer meter that reaches 9000rpm.

4G91 intake manifold and throttle body is going to be pretty restrictive to the 4G93... so better to upgrade those as well...

So many things to upgrade... you see why i always tell people... wanna do a 1.8 conversin from a 4G91... its better to just go get a full halfcut. =Þ people usually only sell 4G93 from GTi/Putra for 2.5-3k... but u're getting so many other things in return... if u buy everything saparate, u think u'll spend less meh? I doubt so.

There's probably a couple more that i missed... =Þ Oh yeah, gearbox, flywheel, etc etc.

Ya...agree, sometime in order less headache and get more barang...is better get halfcut...else rojak here and there...then sure leave 1% tak complete or hard to find...

alvin24 said:

most of the 93 thg u mention i got aredy.... only the meter n GB dun have....
dats y my mech racun me to do this semi 93 mod cos this is within my budget lar...below 2K.... dat also if he can get the 93 block n head for 800buck lar...
complete halfcut 93 halfcut my mech say MMc 1 3.5K also then install 1.2K n JPJ 600buck... if do myself rm42 dats if im lucky lar... budget +-5K aredy...:cry_smile: ... cant afford dat for the moment...:sad_smile:
but then i can sell my 4G91 as a halfcut for +-3K... cums 2 d same sum... 2K++ also....

Hi guy.. I have something to share wif your all.. Is anybody here about using 1.3 manual gearbox??
I got info fr zthians that 1.3 gearbox design for increase underpower engine as 1.3 engine..
Anybody got comment about this.. 1.3 gearbox or 1.5 saga.. which one will better?

partyJOE said:
ayell.... pls answer this question lar bro...
when it cums to iswara n carborator, u r the KING...hehehe:X-:

I try to answer la.. but I'm no King.. heheheh

ylkien said:

I am planning to transplant a 4G91 into an 1.3 iswara. May I know whether the engine will be balance after the transplant?

Will the car sway to the right or left (indicating a imbalance) after the transplant? Anyone has experience?

I've succesfully transplant 4G91 into my Iswara A/B. Engine level or not is depends on your installer, becoz the engine mounting need to be mod. Mine is good.

Car will sway to left and right is much depends on your bushing & suspension, even with original engine ur car can sway if your bushing koyak.

Good practice if you can upgrade your brake servo, because 1.3 brake servo couldn't give u a satisfactory stopping power even with 1.3 engine.

Thanks for ur advise guys.............how much does it cost for a ae101 silver top engine kosong and wat is labour costs?????

partyJOE,
Didn't know u running so many 4G93 things... down to radiator and intake manifold also??
Don't forget 4G91 is using distributer... 4G93 is using ignition coil summore... still got more things that makes them diffrent... I'd still recommend to yo for a full halfcut, and sell off your 4G91 as a whole... at least everything's complete.

rides,
You posting in wrong section. To look for toyota threads.

thanks party, i will go and buy the oil later... i really can not tahan already the noise... i never kena sound like this before... my first time use this arrox then noisy like hell man... some more i overhaul and service my engine then only put this oil in... sxxks...

by the way where is alvin's place? i heard it is some where in cheras right? maybe i can join... but depends on the time la... and also depends on whether any of u guys are going... the biggest diver in this thread finally wants to get out of the water... shy shy but never mind la, u guys are all nice guys, will take care of me wan la. hehe...

alvin24 said:
partyJOE,
Didn't know u running so many 4G93 things... down to radiator and intake manifold also??
Don't forget 4G91 is using distributer... 4G93 is using ignition coil summore... still got more things that makes them diffrent... I'd still recommend to yo for a full halfcut, and sell off your 4G91 as a whole... at least everything's complete.

rides,
You posting in wrong section. To look for toyota threads.

about this i agree la, surely got a lot of unexpected cost comeout wan, and after the transplant also got many minor problems to make u headache like hell... so if really wanna change the engine only, ask CLEARLY what is the cost, and what COULD BE the extra cost. my firend kelisa bolt on turbo, plan nicely, but whencome out, add this la add that la, a few hundred bucks more he end up paying. another one lagi, transplant silver top 20 valve into corrola, the half cut less than 3k, but end up had to pay 7k for everything. so party, make sure u get the list clear.