• AE 86

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Rx-7 Fc

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
bebee said:
ori AE86~1600cc4AGE =130HP

ori RX-7FC~1300ccROTARY ENGINE =210HP

dont watch Initial D anime to make ur decision la...
logic abit la..
i also like to watch iniitial D but its not same as the reality la..
too fake already & impossible rite..
its just my 2 cents...

Horsepower isn't everything. Plus the RX-7 is turbocharged.

Of course Initial D is fake la. But seriously, do you think the 86 will be as popular today if not for Initial D. Part of why some people like the 86 is because of it's cult status in drifting circles. And it's not all show and no go because the 86 was originally designed for drifting, hence it's good handling and balance.

of course FC. much more power. wanna convert to 20B-REW inside maybe. dun mind about the fuel consumption as racing cars 'drinks' fuel a lot.

bebee said:
ori AE86~1600cc4AGE =130HP

ori RX-7FC~1300ccROTARY ENGINE =210HP

dont watch Initial D anime to make ur decision la...
logic abit la..
i also like to watch iniitial D but its not same as the reality la..
too fake already & impossible rite..
its just my 2 cents...
if you use that as an argument to show that FC's rotary engine is superior to 4age, a very naive comment if i must say.

I'm not sure about the fact that i'll be saying below, rotary sifu please verify it for me:

I've read somewhere rotary's rotor actually revs at 3 time slower than the actual engine crankshaft rev.

which means if both rotor spins 1 round, crank will spin 3 round.

now one rotor got 3 "combustion chamber" (or whatever you wanna call it, me no rotary sifu), mean 1/3 of one rotor would be 654cc (hence 654ccx2 = 1308cc). which also mean theoretically every engine rev = 1308cc of air and fuel got combusted.

(rotary sifu help me verify that)

now.. go to 4age. Its a typical 4 cylinder otto/4 stroke cycle. Each engine rev there will be 2 cylinder firing. With 4age's 1587cc displacement, 2 cylinder means 793.5cc of air + fuel combusted per engine rev.

so lets compare old with old and new with new:
FC around ae86 era should be using 13B-VDEI engine, for NA vs NA fair comparison.

13B-VDEI = 146hp@1308cc/cycle = 1hp produced every 8.96~cc
4age "big port" tvis = [email protected]/cycle = 1hp produced every 6.25~cc

Renesis (rx8) = 247hp@1310cc/cycle = 1hp produced every 5.3~cc
4age "blacktop = [email protected]/cycle = 1hp produced every 4.8~cc

so in both case, NA vs NA, 4age produced more power per displacement. and rotary engine is basically and effectively a 2.6liter engine if you convert it to a 4 stroke engine. Which is why the Renesis is awarded best engine under 3 liter and not qualify for 1300cc class.

so wan compare rotary turbo then go compare to rb26dett lar... big guns should play with big guns. dun come bully small little 1.6liter.

*anyone who got stuff to argue are welcome to correct me, like that everyone can learn. above argument is just engine vs engine, its not about car vs car, and i do agree FC do have a better suspension setup, while at the same time provide 50-50 weight distribution like the 86.

hmm i will go for 86 cos if wanna maintain 86 is easier ,
i oso like fc3s but because of the maintanance is damn high,and to find a mech to fix ur car is hard to find,
if u have $$$ and mach knows abt RE cars then can go for it,cos of horse power

86 might sound over rated,and expensive to buy an old car,but face it it has been resuracted by drifting,its like undertaker,lol
the phenom, hahaha

PAUL_CJ said:
ae86 is way better looking than fc

Dude,

If you wanna talk about looks, its a subjective thing.

The Ae86 appeals to most ppl because of its performance persona. If the Ae86 was FWD with a weedy engine, this thread wouldn't even exist. Its pig ugly and yet ppl love it, I dun see you celebrating the 80's era Ae85. AND like most people have stated the Ae86 is popular here only because of Initial D and the japanese videos we all get. Besides real enthusiast; no one even bothered about this car in the early 90s where it was worth peanuts.

Don't get me wrong, I think its a great car but is celebrated here in Malaysia for the wrong reasons. How many people you know that says the Ae86 rocks have actually driven one to its limits. I havent'...

Both the FC3S and the Ae86 have near perfect weight balance

Both are comparatively light weight

Both are RWD

Both have distinguished racing pedigrees

Both are costly taking into account their age

I love both these cars and have the luxury and joy of owning one of them.

I think its a lot more constructive to discuss their merits rather than paintbrush their abilities in a streotypical manner.

rollakid

Rotary engines have 2 power cycle per revs laaa. twin rotor means 4 power cycle per revs.. beat that! hehehe also, your calculation is rather incorrect coz you're taking into account 2 cylinders for the 4AGE while you're only taking into account 1 rotor for rotary. ;) recalculate and you'll see why rotary is sometimes mindboggling. ;)

anyway, I'd driven and even drifted both cars and i must say that i like the FC more than the ae86, in stock form engine but with modded suspensions. 4AGE just loses out on power/weight ratio and also on mid range torque.

driven and set up properly, FC kicks arse! hehehe

so, FC for me. :D :D

so tell me lar.. how much air-fuel mixture do a twin rotor engine combust per engine rev counted in CC? this is what i wanna know... i have no clear picture of it even until now and what i say at my previous post is really what i thought it was...

stolen from wikipedia:
Wankel_Cycle_anim_en.gif

as i've said, the rotor spin one round = 3 engine rev, and basically each engine rev each rotor will get combusted once, and with 2 rotor, mean it will get combusted twice ( i know they don't combust at the same time, but no matter, one fired after the other's combustion cycle finish, same as an inline 4 anyway).

so the question now is (that i do not have a clear picture yet): what is the displacement of one of the surface of the rotor? is it 654cc? thus 2 rotor = 654x2cc? if that is true, then it will pretty much equal to a 2.6liter inline-4 piston engine.

please correct me if i say anything wrong again, and please explain why. no point saying people is wrong then you can't say what is right, like that nobody learns nothing.

and to make things clear (just in case) i'm counting the efficiency of the engine not raw power output.

AE86 for me. Looks humble and not every tom dick and harrry knows how to control this car. requires skills and time to know how to maximize the potential.

for me i vote for 86......
but dis is old car....n got lot of potential inside.....
when learn drift u can noe more better when stil in beginner......
dis car will train got good tecnique......

yea....need to require good skill to control it n time to understand dis car....
ermm.....like Katsuhiro Ueo

Josh Takumi 86,

It took me 4 times to read your msg. i suggest you just type "86" will be enough. Easier to understand too. hahah :cyclops:

7500rpm and Josh Wannabe 86....whoops....I meant Takumi,

Any car requires skill to master, be it the "humble" Ae86 or the flamboyant FC3S.

Just because you master the humble looking Ae86 doesn't automatically mean you master all the cars in the world.

If i was to take your rationale to another level, like so:-

AE86 - humble and high difficulty in acquiring mastery in car whilst drifting

Kancil 660cc with manual tranny - even humbler looks and higher difficulty as a drifting platform. Its everything you DON"T want in a drift car. FF, high center of gravity, weedy puny powerplant, almost zero torque etc.....

Does that make the Kancil 660 the most rocking car in the drift world?

I won't even try to answer that, but you guys can go ahead and give it a shot using your powers of deduction.

yea......any of de car is stil need a skil to drive or race it....

btw de kancil in JP racking in drift world.....
when see them drift reli whaooo.....hahaha
and actually my favourite car is 86.....:D