DIY Voltage Stabilizer

As for the smooth shifting (rpm stable drop), i am not sure if it is contributed by the stabilizer or the Air-Twister which i installed together.

Overall performance i would say good enough for less than RM 30 investment. :)

Next project would be DIY ground cables. But i still can not find gauge 4 cables in IPOH. Any one knows where we can get the cables and lugs in Ipoh.

Originally posted by Vincew@Dec 16 2004, 12:20
Xtorm, Power dude. you use 56 units and total capacitance is 46130 uF.

Your ride must be real smooth. But why you did not use a fuse holder instead fo solder the fuse to the wires.

I did mine yesterday.

Use Caps:
4700 uF (3pcs), 3300 uF (3pcs), 1000 uF (8pcs). Total = 32000 uF.

Affect is:
Smooth idling rpm (even air con cut on/off does not feel much drop in rpm).

Standard audio sounds clear. (How do i know :) simple- crack the volume up and u can hear less distortion/noise.

My car is Wira 1.5 (2001) standard engine, so i think 32k uF is enough for me. the cost of every thing is below RM25.
i didnt use fuse at all...cos i bought the holder but forget to buy the fuse....damn stupid.... :P :D

my ice seems to benefit alot from tis mod.

For the caps, just arrange n solder in parallel or serial?

guys..ever heard about this thing call SULFARID???

The Sulfarid Battery Desulfator
http://www.sulfarid.com.my/images/Sulfarid_M_Small.gif

http://www.sulfarid.com.my/Products/Sulfarid.htm

any comment??

Originally posted by acbc@Dec 16 2004, 14:16
For the caps, just arrange n solder in parallel or serial?
parallel........+ve to +ve n -ve to -ve

Thanks xtorm. I will use your pics as a guide to build mine. Will post up pics also.

The box i used don not have holes. I put the unit between the battery and the front lamp area. It fits nicely without screws and does not move.

I think that area is cool as the wind can go past it. I don think it gets too wet either so ther is no special water insulation/gasket. Just close the cover and Cable tie it. :)

I don not risk wetting the Caps with water from air flow hole. The Caps i use can stand 85 deg C, i don't think that they will reach that Temp.

Even if it Blows, I still have Fuse.... :P :lol:

Whoa, Xtorm. I though Lix "and Bro and Sis" made it clear to have a fuse at the positive between your Battery positive and your Capasitor?.

I did it for insurance incase of anything, i used 30A fuse(cheap la few RM for the container and the fuse). ;o

For your power power setup of caps i personally advise the use of Fuse to protect your Caps. (It is not the money but the effort to solder those 59 caps). :ph34r:

I suspected Hitz shorted the circuit with reverse polarity of either one capacitor or he missed out the ground with the positive.
Note: I marked the Positive wire with a white tape, so i do not make mistake when hooking it up to the battery.

Cheers to DIY..... :) :rolleyes: :D :lol:

okeh, thanks... :P

now, another Q.
we just need to connect the positive lug to the positive part of the battery and negative lug to the negative part of the battery. in other, we parellel the DIY-VS with the battery rite?

:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Seabiscuit@Dec 15 2004, 19:14
Went to JB's Tin Chi Kai. Got sell 4700uF and 3300uF 16v 105c for RM3.50/pc. Is it expensive?

If I wanna do this type. The sum of all caps should be 22980uF right?
http://www7.plala.or.jp/soaristo/page/diy/image/condenser_tune09.jpg

jb got "tin chi kai"???
where is it?????

pls!!! i in jb...

tin chi kai at taman sentosa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
opposite road of the "the store" and "ocean"

go until the end count from the store and there's alot electric shop just like jalan pasar!!!!!!!!!

i from JB sentosa too!!!

vincew....nice circuit......

yea...gona buy the fuse tomolo, 30A...or should i get more? i already got the holder, juz without fuse....fogot to buy....:(

Originally posted by acbc@Dec 16 2004, 15:40
Thanks xtorm. I will use your pics as a guide to build mine. Will post up pics also.
wellcome.....

hmmmm i think there is clearer pic compare to mine.....

how u guys post tose big big pic 1?

Originally posted by Vincew@Dec 16 2004, 13:44
As for the smooth shifting (rpm stable drop), i am not sure if it is contributed by the stabilizer or the Air-Twister which i installed together.

Overall performance i would say good enough for less than RM 30 investment. :)

Next project would be DIY ground cables. But i still can not find gauge 4 cables in IPOH. Any one knows where we can get the cables and lugs in Ipoh.
what about a shop located alongside of jln pasir putih?the shop is called south pacific.according to a friend of mine there's also another shop around that area too.

I was in rush. I went to Meayers. I am looking for Gauge 4 cables which they do not have.

It is ok i will try to look other shops.

i am just wondering if any one knew where got the shop. Can save petrol mah :)

Originally posted by arizal@Dec 16 2004, 16:39
okeh, thanks... :P

now, another Q.
we just need to connect the positive lug to the positive part of the battery and negative lug to the negative part of the battery. in other, we parellel the DIY-VS with the battery rite?

:rolleyes:
Just connect Positive of the VS to the positive terminal (Battery).

And the negative of VS to negative terminal (Battery).

If you got Diy Ground cables you can attach the negative of the VS to the Ground distributor. :)

Happy Diy

Originally posted by xtorm@Dec 16 2004, 17:15
vincew....nice circuit......

yea...gona buy the fuse tomolo, 30A...or should i get more? i already got the holder, juz without fuse....fogot to buy....:(
I am not sure about your setup. But i think you are using 12V battery as well?

30A should be enough for 12V system.

If you have modified alternator (uses Bigger voltage battery) you would need more. (I think only - not confirm yet "Can someone help me confirm?")

Note: I am not saying BIG = GOOD. If the FUSE too high it may not function. :(

The current is supposed to melt the FUSE circuit before it reach your system.

The samller the AMP the more sensative the FUSE.

You can start of with Small FUSE then if the FUSE Fry :D , just change the FUSE to operational value ;) .

Originally posted by Vincew@Dec 16 2004, 18:20
I was in rush. I went to Meayers. I am looking for Gauge 4 cables which they do not have.

It is ok i will try to look other shops.

i am just wondering if any one knew where got the shop. Can save petrol mah :)
i think u can try the shop beside Meayers lah..... they also selling....