drive with switch on emergency light during heavy rain

actually if the rain is really really heavy it's still okay to on the harzard light and keep to the left lane. from what i read in this thread its proven that you all are more alert when u see cars with hazard lights on, therefore you all are driving more carefullly.

Like european cars, they have the red light high beam behind their cars. these red light high beam is meant for foggy and heavy rain use. like for eg the chevy aveo, if you notice one side of the signal lamp is white and the other is red. Japanese cars dun have these red high beams behind their cars. so i find it still okay to on the hazard light ONLY ONLY during REALLY REALLY REALLY heavy downpour. Like last night rain, i was on the way to ampang using the MRR2.. it was still consider okay, no need to on harzrd light. i drove before on those really really xtreamly heavy rain situation and believe me, its really really really hard to depend on only the red lights.

bAbE83 said:
Heh maybe it's just different rules and regulations in different country.

I know in Malaysia, switching on your hazard lights means that your car is stationary so be aware kinda meaning..

but in Korea, we switch on the hazard lights for many uses u know keke
for example, if there's a heavy downpour, we are "taught" to switch it on to let others behind you know that your car is "there" -_-;

we also switch on our hazard lights during heavy fog when the visibility is almost 0. can't see shit in the fog (some of those frequent visitors to genting should know) we switch it on so that people behind you see your hazard lights and don't come bang into you...

Nowadays, it is like understood..when you cut queue or you did somethng wrong while driving and you feel bad, we on our hazard lights to tell them sorry la~~ +_+
when we wanna park, we on our hazard lights to tell the car behind you that you wanna park instead of left/right signals ^^;

i dunno, i guess it's just different in different countries ^^;

I don't know about you but the rear fog lights should suffice without the need to switch on the hazard lights.

And switching on the hazard lights to tell other drivers we're sorry after jumping queue, etc?
That's freaking NEW to me!

yup:

i've been to S'pore and that's what they use: the hazards to signal that they realise their mistake.. OR you're in a single lane street, and you want to reverse park, so you signal the car behind by switchin on the hazards.

mind you, the hazards only blink about 2 cycles! then switched off...

but seriously, during heavy downpour, u cant see much but u still can see the car infront, hazard lights better dun on ler

if u want to use the hazard lights...it has to be puouring like shit, and pls stay on the left lane..and not on the right lane..

i just switch on my parking lights and fog lamps...they usually do the job...

If you feel scared that the car at the back can't see you in the downpour, then stop at the emergency lane, and THEN switch on your hazard lights.

I've personally never had a problem spotting vehicles in heavy downpour, assuming they've got their head and tail lights on. There is always a certain range where their tail lights will become visible to you unless of course they're fucked like some arsewipes i've encountered. Can't tell if they're braking or not. I don't see a prob with using just your head and tail lights unless of course you're trying to take over Schumacher's mantle as the 'rain master' and cannot stop in time when seeing the tail lights of the car in front.

im sitting on da fence in this matter.
some of uks and aussie drivers do this during heavy rain but i dont know wheater it is practical or not. :rolleyes:

Yes .... see that ...

Most of you guys saying, if on our "hazard light" keep on ure left and slow, dont be like "pulti" in middle or right lane later for ure ass kena kiss ... he he.

Its practical, and just to warn rear drivers to be more alert, AccordRacing .. if u saying that u wont know the person with hazard on infront turning left or right ... are u knida speeding in heavy rain? .. can drive calmly and let him free for that session? he's on hazard signal .. may be he's scared or more alert in driving at heavy rain condition, so we just let him to run with his hazard .. and that wat i do patiently ;)

to whom who live at kl area,u guys must know the MRR2 hiway toward sungai buluh there got a bridge which connect from the kepong road,tat time when i was going down hill,there are many road user switch on the hazard light n keep changing lane,its very confusing n ez to cause accident,btw sakuraguy i am not speeding,i maintance the speed around 60~80km/h

basically.
*keep left
*dont do it in town road!
*highway might be considred

;)

Yes, accepted AccordRacing, most people dont know the position they are when they use hazard signals even i am personally hate person who keep changing lane fast while using hazards at bad weather condition.

Points from nitrospeed is good and advisable to all road users:
1. keep left
2. dont do it in town road
3. highway might be considred

Plus = Drive slow and respect other users ..

Cheers!

ok, lets hear a story.

i was driving on the mid lane of a road and it was drizzling. suddenly the engine stalled and i tried to pull over but only managed to stop at the most left lane (not emergency). it started to rain heavily. luckily there are not many road users during that time but still, i cant go out as the rain gets heavier.

i quickly switched on the hazard lights..which is meant for hazards (for those who dont know what is the real function). out of a sudden i notice other road users are also using their hazard lights while on the move. and while thinking what wud be the effect of such action i was shocked when my car was hit from behind with a loud bang.
it was a prime mover (or kepala lori for container). ouch the neck hurts..

here's the morale
1. trailer driver said in his defence he was in his lane. he said all cars also use hazard light. so he DID'NT aware my car was stationary. when he realised, it was too late. so no choice, he bang my car from behind. and my Wira Aeroback became a Satria 4 door.
i was warded into hospital due to back injury from the whiplash impact.

2. when our vision is bad because of bad weather, it wud be even harder to judge whether one car is moving or not. so we will simply ASSUME that all cars are moving and once we are behind the wheel, we shud never do an assumption. we are responsible for our own life as well as other road users.

3. when it gets dark, say at 7pm nowdays or once it starts raining and the sun disappears..please switch on the car small lights (also known as the position lamp). this is not becoz of our visibility is bad but rather to tell other road users (whom we do not know how good are their eyes) of our position (hence the name position lamp).
by switching on the lights, u can also monitor the car's instrument meter better (like tachometer, or fuel gauge).

4. if rain gets heavier (normally at wiper speed one; after intermittent) we shud switch on the fog lamps.Headlamp use is not so necessary as we do not need to see far. Fog lamps do this job better as it shines only below the bumper and does not glare to oncoming cars.
surprisingly, in 10 proton cars with fog lamp, only 2 or 3 wud make use of it.
and more surprising, during normal night driving 3 or 4 of waja drivers will switch on their fog lights. why u may ask. waja has a weak low beam (high beam is good though). so, must use fog lamp to assist visibility. for perdana cars, using fog lamps will make their cars look coolll..

3. in very heavy rain or thick fog, we need to use headlamps as well as fog lamps to enhance visibility not only for us to see the road surface, but also for other cars to realise ourselves. for cars with rear fog lamps, shud switch on also so vehicles from rear can judge what shud be the good distance to maintain.

never use hazard lights UNLESS THE CAR IS STATIONARY. i hope the media can help us spread this to all drivers out there.

i dont bother about other countries. i care for malaysia and our fellow drivers. we shud make the road safer to use. :D

my 5 cents.

dont know what undang other took.. but for me.. i was taught that hazard lights are used and ONLY used when the car is stationary. for heavy downpour headlamps are good enough. if you wanna be safe, keep to the left, DO NOT hog the right lane.

then again, mofo's that act like maikai shumatkai during a heavy downpour should take some time and reflect on their actions. you might think that you're brilliant driving skills and always be in control of your vehicle, but SHIT happens, no matter how good you are you can never be sure. be considerate. think about the safety of others too...

surveys have shown that driving with ur hazard lights on while it's raining increases the chances of accidents happening... when i c msians doing this, it really gets my blood boiling... i get really pissed off with their ignorance... it's understandable that during a very heavy downpour, it's hard to see the tail lights of the car in front of u but that's never an excuse to turn on the hazard lights...
what i would usually recommend and do when it's raining VERY heavily, is turn on ur right signal if u r driving on the right lane and ur left signal if u r on the left lane. This way the fella at the back can see ur car and u r not endangering anybody. However, if u r in the middle lane, dun do anything and just brace urself if some blind idiot bangs u from the back... :wink:

zan said:
ok, lets hear a story.

i was driving on the mid lane of a road and it was drizzling. suddenly the engine stalled and i tried to pull over but only managed to stop at the most left lane (not emergency). it started to rain heavily. luckily there are not many road users during that time but still, i cant go out as the rain gets heavier.

i quickly switched on the hazard lights..which is meant for hazards (for those who dont know what is the real function). out of a sudden i notice other road users are also using their hazard lights while on the move. and while thinking what wud be the effect of such action i was shocked when my car was hit from behind with a loud bang.

here's the morale
1. trailer driver said in his defence he was in his lane. he said all cars also use hazard light. so he DID'NT aware my car was stationary. when he realised, it was too late. so no choice, he bang my car from behind. and my Wira Aeroback became a Satria 4 door.

2. when our vision is bad because of bad weather, it wud be even harder to judge whether one car is moving or not. so we will simply ASSUME that all cars are moving and once we are behind the wheel, we shud never do an assumption. we are responsible for our own life as well as other road users.

3. when it gets dark, say at 7pm nowdays or once it starts raining and the sun disappears..please switch on the car small lights (also known as the position lamp). this is not becoz of our visibility is bad but rather to tell other road users (whom we do not know how good are their eyes) of our position (hence the name position lamp).
by switching on the lights, u can also monitor the car's instrument meter better (like tachometer, or fuel gauge).

4. if rain gets heavier (normally at wiper speed one; after intermittent) we shud switch on the fog lamps.Headlamp use is not so necessary as we do not need to see far. Fog lamps do this job better as it shines only below the bumper and does not glare to oncoming cars.
and more surprising, during normal night driving 3 or 4 of waja drivers will switch on their fog lights. why u may ask. waja has a weak low beam (high beam is good though). so, must use fog lamp to assist visibility. for perdana cars, using fog lamps will make their cars look coolll..

3. in very heavy rain or thick fog, we need to use headlamps as well as fog lamps to enhance visibility not only for us to see the road surface, but also for other cars to realise ourselves. for cars with rear fog lamps, shud switch on also so vehicles from rear can judge what shud be the good distance to maintain.

never use hazard lights UNLESS THE CAR IS STATIONARY. i hope the media can help us spread this to all drivers out there.

i dont bother about other countries. i care for malaysia and our fellow drivers. we shud make the road safer to use. :D

my 5 cents.

Couldn't agree more with you. :wink:

Nicely put.

many of you shouted "Hazard lights are only for stalled or STATIONARY vehicles!"

do not forget there are VIP car who on their hazard light when they are escorted by the traffic.

cheers, just wanna share the information here.

zan said:
ok, lets hear a story.

here's the morale

my 5 cents.

this is one good example for not using hazard lights in the correct mannner, creating confusion and accidents. we shud only turn on when our cars are not moving, is very misleading to on hazard lights during heavy down pour

samurai, that's because the vips never drive their cars so they never actually went 4 driving lessons and the chauffeurs who usually drive 4 them r illiterate idiots anyway.... :smile: