ek jinx. need advise!

alex27

hope u people can help me sort this problem. i recently bought this ek 1.5exi. so many problem. now got problem again, d car seems to overheat 3/4 n then drop when d car stay at traffic. driving is ok. funny thing is when i c overheat i off d engine. less than a sec i start temp back to normal then temp rise n drop. i change d radiator n fan same result too. any help? while i change d radiator i spill d trans oil. no luck. wat oil shud i use?

any help? greatly appreciate it. wat oil shud i use? n how many litres?
for d overheat issue, do help me. i check d head, seems fine to me. no smoke no bubble in rad. no water in dipstick or plugs. could it be a malfunction at d meter gauge?

thermostat ok i will try tat. thx a lot. maybe it wud be better if i took out the thermostat hehe
for d15 auto tranny. what oil shud i use ? can i use shell dextron 3?
i was wandering if i can install an oil cooler rather than the trans oil cooling in the radiator. Any1?

thermostat ok i will try tat. thx a lot. maybe it wud be better if i took out the thermostat hehe
for d15 auto tranny. what oil shud i use ? can i use shell dextron 3?
i was wandering if i can install an oil cooler rather than the trans oil cooling in the radiator. Any1?

u can add an atf cooler,... but the original route to the bottom of radiator must be maintained.
Roughly, the oem cooling makes 70%, ur atf cooler the other 30%.

70% for oem and aftermarket is 30% so u mean to say oil cooling Oem thru the radiator is better?

better,...

and if u hv atf cooler,... even better,...

but if u dismantle the passage thru radiator and only reply on the atf cooler,... big big problem

big big problem? but if u reconnect the hoses to the new oil cooler still big problem...??

Have a check on the water pump as well and if you don't mind going an extra mile,use the factory pre-mix coolant iso using tap water for the water system in the future.
Cheers & good luck buddy!

i just open d thermostat. there wasn't any thermostat in it. still overheat during hot traffic jam. any more advise? its not radiator,fan, gauge n thermostat. there's no leak headgasket symptoms.

what u mean i just open d thermostat. there wasn't any thermostat in it???

pening

hehe sorry i mean i open d thermostat housing. they wasn't any thermostat in it. im lost with d overheat. i notice d temperature gets high when i switch d air con. any possibilities? d engine seems ok cos when i start d car in d morning there s water dew from d exhaust

i'm not sure whther the thremostat has a housing,... hmmm?
anyway,... get a thermostat and fixed in,... then see how,...

Thermostat will have a housing and i doubt the rising of temperature will got to do with the "no thermostat" in your engine currently.
Have a check on the water pump.
Good luck buddy!

4 doors. i pening already. kept checking on cooling system. possible water pump effect? if water pump is defect shud.nt there be leaking. mine no leak.

Not necc a water pump effect will cause leakage.
At times,the fins or so called "turbine" on the water pump is gone or botak which will also cause rising of temperature as there's no more spinning effect for the water flow.
Any other bros have any input for our friend here?
Cheers!

Hmmm, the air con can be the root of the problem, it's best if always make sure air con is off when is about to start engine. Second hand cars seem have lots of electric wiring issues lah. Air con fan got run or not? Very doubtful engine also halfly die liao.