How To Stop & Control A Car Without Brakes

sakuraguy

You hit the brakes to slow down and the pedal goes to the floor. Uh-oh! What do you do?

Begin pumping the brake pedal and keep pumping it.
You may be able to build up enough pressure in the braking system to slow down a bit, or even stop completely. If you have antilock brakes, you do not normally pump them--but if your brakes have failed, this may work.

Do not panic. Relax and steer the car smoothly.
Cars will often safely corner at speeds much higher than you realize or are used to driving. The rear of the car may slip, so steer evenly, being careful not to overcorrect.

Shift the car into the lowest gear and let the engine and transmission slow you down.

Pull the emergency brake, but not too hard.
Pulling too hard on the emergency brake will cause the rear wheels to lock and the car to spin around. Use even, constant pressure. In most cars, the emergency brake (the hand brake or parking brake) is cable operated and serves as a fail-safe brake that should work even when the rest of the braking system has failed. The car should slow down and, in combination with the lower gear, eventually stop.

If you come up behind another car, use it to help you stop.
Blow your horn and flash your lights to get the driver's attention. If it appears you're going to hit the car, try to hit it square, bumper to bumper, so you do not knock the other vehicle off the road. This is an extremely dangerous maneuver. It works best if the vehicle in front of you is larger than yours--a bus or truck, for example--and if both vehicles are traveling at about the same speed. You do not want to crash into a much slower-moving or stopped vehicle. However, you may have no choice.

Cheers!

this one was thought during my UNDANG seminar..

If you come up behind another car, use it to help you stop.
Blow your horn and flash your lights to get the driver's attention. If it appears you're going to hit the car, try to hit it square, bumper to bumper, so you do not knock the other vehicle off the road. This is an extremely dangerous maneuver. It works best if the vehicle in front of you is larger than yours--a bus or truck, for example--and if both vehicles are traveling at about the same speed. You do not want to crash into a much slower-moving or stopped vehicle. However, you may have no choice.

the person who gave the talk also added.. insurance cover maa!

First, you need to be in extreme calm mind when doing that. I doubt anyone of us here would be calm enough when the car he/she is driving has a brake failure at 90kmh.

I'd say keep pumping the brake pedal and pulling the e-brake would be the best option. Make sure your car is straight though. You don't wanna be in a drift situation after doing that.

Above all, engine braking would probably helps the most. Say you're in 90kmh, i think what you need to do is to drop the gear to 2nd gear and let the engine scream violently while the speed drops. And then you do the brake pumping action and pull the handbrake.

hmm what if the e-brake and brake pumping fail??

for me i would off the engine and slowly drop the gear to gear 1 then use the side railing to stop

is easy pull half handbrakes n shiff to lower gear let the engine stop and turn off the engine at the same time sure will stop 1.....haha cause i have try b4 when drive a tander car .....hahaha

gradually pull the handbrake...

engage into lower gears....

use the road divider to slow ur car down....

dump ur car into bushes or small drain....

1st i will open the door lock

2nd open the door

3rd see infront carefully b4 jump (example jump on the grass and etc)

And lastly jump out and enjoy the car crash show

sometimes it easy to just say then doing it..been in the situation three times..

what can i say is..u will NOT be thinking of dropping ur gear..this is from my experience..the only thing inside ur head is "oh, crap~!" then u start pumping brakes, pull the e brake, and try not to hit the car infront...right?

put HIJECTION into your car....like JET....wooooo fly up.....take camera of the crash....

Lower gearing helps ..

kelvio .. as u said "Off Engine" .. never ever do tat .. u know wat will happen if ure car is power steering assisted? .. try and comeback in ZTH and tell ure experience .. :)

good luck!

sakuraguy said:
Lower gearing helps ..

kelvio .. as u said "Off Engine" .. never ever do tat .. u know wat will happen if ure car is power steering assisted? .. try and comeback in ZTH and tell ure experience .. :)

good luck!
it will be harder than non-powersteering, but not non-steer-able, at least imho.

jamming the handbrake will not make the car spin around if you are going straight, even if you lock the wheel, the ammount of oversteer will be minimal if it ever happen, and can be easily corrected by counter steering. but then locking the wheel isn't going to help you stop faster lar...

thats just my experience, you have to be fairly calm and concentrated to do that. not when you are listening to your favourite dj joking around...

evo5229 said:
put HIJECTION into your car....like JET....wooooo fly up.....take camera of the crash....
hahaha.... ejektoseat.... reminds me of 2 fast 2 furious... lolz...

not fly up la... jz blast u out from the doors....

hahaha, when i first saw the title i tot it's a question.

anyway this is wat i tot of

1. accel to the max.
2. aim for the walls.
3. baaaaaaaaa-daaaaaaa-booooom
4. have a free ride to the hospital

and not forgetting to thank u guys for sharin useful infos.
coz i dont remember anything from the undang skool. hahaha.

tried onces,well somemore b4 corner.cruising at 80-90...when wanna brake for the corner,guess wat,pedal floored!!
luckily keep pumping the pedal,it start to regenerate back the pressure,and also apply force on the e-brake,straight away downshift kao kao...
quite close though

When the brake fails, i think i will start to panic.. hahaha.. no time to think so much... the first thing that'll come to my mind would be.... Oh sh1t..... hahhaa...
never had any brake failure incidents b4.

SkYwAlKeR said:
hahaha.... ejektoseat.... reminds me of 2 fast 2 furious... lolz...

not fly up la... jz blast u out from the doors....

hahha yss...2 fast 2 furies...cannot side fly. ..must up fly......later behind car

cum....become "ham chim peng" .....WOOOOO or even pizza......:confused_smile:

another case u can scream

CHRISTIAN -- HALELUYAH

CHINESE -- ANITOHFOO

TAMIL -- ERmmm dono

MAYALY --- ALLAH right???

anyway just scream your GOD help u....better than u break ....YEAH