HU top model...Sony vs Pioneer vs Alpine

asral

To all " ice taiko " out there... what is ur opinion about this 3 product n all the present user of this unit, what is ur comment about ur current unit. value for money, apperance, sound quality, function..... :D

i'm new about HU, so please give ur comment about that. :D

a lot already discussed, maybe can search aroubd the forun for previous threads..

Obviously Alpine would win in this battle but you would get more out of Pioneer with the money that you used to get Alpine. Definitely not sony.

Originally posted by SiGNAL@Mar 12 2005, 21:03
Obviously Alpine would win in this battle but you would get more out of Pioneer with the money that you used to get Alpine. Definitely not sony.
not really. dun forget, Sony do have a XES model which can be same as costly as Alipne F1 status

i heard a lot of story that pioneer HU always used in competition. is that true?

onli the high end unit....normally ppl will think pioneer is a cheapo coz they make lots of cheap affordable HU...like those brothers selling 1...

normally clarion...nakamichi...alpine f1 status...eclipse...hump...sumore wathuh... :P

difficult to compare brands lar..... somemore it is up to an individual for preference,
Example... Eclipse has a high end deck, 8061, some people loves it very much, but some people dun like it at all....... loves the Alpine wor....

so end of day....it is preference

Originally posted by calvinhpk@Mar 13 2005, 02:20
Very true.. so at end of the day.. it boil down to :

1. What type of music we listen to
2. What type of instrument / vocal we pay attention to
2. What kind of musical sound style we love (warmer, detailed, bla bla)

And different brand of HU will cater to different type of listener. Competition is somewhat abstract since sound is much like art. As how me say photography contest for example, how do we judge the 'best' photo or picture?? that why i dun like competition when come to abstract thing.. there's no 1+1 = 2 in art.

Just my personal experience..

Originally posted by calvinhpk@Mar 13 2005, 02:20
difficult to compare brands lar..... somemore it is up to an individual for preference,
Example... Eclipse has a high end deck, 8061, some people loves it very much, but some people dun like it at all....... loves the Alpine wor....

very agree with this...buy what u like...the money is yours :D

when we used a power HU such as top model and combined it with not so power amp ( no brand ), is there any different when compare to powerful amp ( the brand one ) :huh:

Have to see which range. How about putting a budget to the question as well?

If you want to compare the top of each company means it will be

Sony XES vs Pionner P-9 vs Alpibne 7990

All of them need external processors (Not 100% sure on sony)

All of them are not cheap, the cheapest of the lot is Pioneer.

All of them give good SQ

20k :blink: huh... i can do a lot of thing to my engine. i think, if i want to get HU, i will consider a middle range such as pioneer 7 series or sony 8 series ABP or alpine 5/6 series. what do u suggest. :lol:

Originally posted by Bert@Mar 13 2005, 12:30
If you want to compare the top of each company means it will be

Sony XES vs Pionner P-9 vs Alpibne 7990

All of them need external processors (Not 100% sure on sony)

All of them are not cheap, the cheapest of the lot is Pioneer.

All of them give good SQ
yes, Spny XES do need processor

You never told us your budget------and theres no 5-6 series in Alpine..this ain't BMW. <_<

hahaha... :D sorry. my bad. my budget around 1 to 1.5k. :rolleyes: no big budget for HU.

Well, your budget of around RM1.5k, in my opinion, u can get the Alpine 9833 then, great features and SQ for it's price.