Hyundai Owners

zique

Kopi O Lesen Driver
Just curious whether there's any Hyundai Car owners in here...
Maybe can talk talk abit about what we can do with them Kolean kah.

My ride's a Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS ... otomatik :P

Originally posted by zique@Jul 19 2004, 05:55 PM
Just curious whether there's any Hyundai Car owners in here...
Maybe can talk talk abit about what we can do with them Kolean kah.

My ride's a Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS ... otomatik :P
Have u tried going to the max speed? How fast can your car go?

BTW, my car got wind whistle like sound when travelling at about 140kmh. I think maybe something loosen ler......come from the front side pasenger area.

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Jul 24 2004, 11:12 AM
inokom atoz can consider ah?
I think can lah, other fellow members here won't mind. Maybe if enough Hyundai owners then can create a section for Hyundai lor.... :D

Originally posted by elantra@Jul 26 2004, 12:53 PM
i`m here

using elantra 1.6 gls
Wat engine is urs using? 1.6GLS is the new 2004 model r?

R34 body kit on Elantra 2001-2004

very cun oh but no $ to fix....almost Rm 3500 full set

Anyone know how to take out the catalytic and the engine check light won't lit up?

Very good respond dump the cat away but check light annoying!

Hyundai Elantra 1.8GLS 2002 OBD-II

:(

So I think it is based on the mitsu engine design....

any mod done or not?

HMS,

The top speed that I've done on the Elantra is about 170km/h ...
That's the furthest I've went on the Highway at night.
I only drive it when I travel long distance, rest of the time, my dad would be using the car cause he can't stand the noise from my Perdana. I've no plans to do anything to the car yet but is looking around for bodykits to mak the car look abit more... aggressive, seen some in the market but they are just ... too standard looking.

I've not done any modification to it. Only thing I've done so far after 2 years is change the tyres to Bridgestones and fitted in a K&N filter (the square one that fit
nicely into the housing).

If there's wind whistling coming into your cabin, I think it could be resulting from the Rubber, some parts might have dried up and have holes in them. That happened to my Perdana and have since changed it and now, no sound.

I think the older Hyundai models are all using Mitsubishi Engines as I've read it somewhere (I think it was KERETA and another local english Car-Mod magazine) that was discussing about Hyundai cars and the engines.

yela i think hyundai engine base on mitsu engine....

i dont make any modi .... at my cat :D
how about you.... :P

Zique, rubber heh....got to check then, thanks for the advice.
Not much mod can be done on the beta engine cos of the OBD-II EMS, any major changes most likely will trigger the MIL on, annoying.

I had change to HKS filter, throw away the original filter box and the stupid 2 90 degree bend on the intake. You take your battery out, u will know what i am saying here. The air flow restiction is very serious. DIY a CAI compartment with cold air directed from the front bumper (the spot light hole). Power and mileage improve a lot man. On 3rd gear i am going at 180kmh liao :D . Speed cut comes in at about 195-200kmh.

Using Bosch super 4 plugs, NGK platinum not suitable for this motor.
Mobil 1 full syn engine oil, Agip ATF.
205/60/15 series tyres, now Falken ZE326 front and Yokohama S306 back. Both also crap. Going back to Premio 60. Cheap and good.

I tried potong the Catalytic, a lot better respond, but engine check light lit up.
Anyone know where to get extractor for this engine? Mine bocor liao. :(

elantra -

i read that elantra model year 2000 and older is based on mitsu but newer model, got all mix up already. Not just mitsu....

Like now I am using Nissan Serena brakepad for front wheels. Its Nissan Akebono Japan, imported, cost me RM 180 for front sets. But brake power very good. Next brake i am going to try EBC Greenstuff ler :rolleyes:

HMS,

The thing is, my Hyundai is not for racing. It's for a family drive back to kampung as well as to dinner or shopping complexes. So really no plans, unless I'm able to find a new job, get a good pay and then save enough to get an MPV (7 seater) or a Trajet (7 seater right?), then I'll start to tinkle with the Elantra.

Furthermore, I'm happy enough with the performance, what with the family always nagging me whenever my speed goes above 115km/h. So don't even bother about boosting up the hp, no point, even when they goes to nap in the car for long distance, I don't dare to go above 140km/h - 150km/h cause they'd know when a 2hours (at 110km/h) ride end up to 1 hour and 15minute. LOL.

Even achieving 170km/h was done at a spur of the moment when a Singaporean Skyline over took me on the way to Ipoh and decide to give chase..... reach 170km/h only my father start asking how come the scenery all move by so fast....

Furthermore, it feels horrible when you drive fast and the MASSAGER is ON (this of course for models that comes with the build-in Massager)... you can try if you dont believe me, select the 4th setting on the massager and you'd know what I mean.

elantra, HMS is right about the engines, I think all the cars that is manufactured after the year 2002 are all made "in-house", they might have taken bits and pieces from this engine and that engine. Look at the Sonata 2.5ltr. Majority of the technology is from Mercedes. They had some contract with Mercedes in terms of technology adoption while maintaining the contract with Mitsubishi. But a month back, Hyundai has drop all ties with Mitsubishi and has slowly withdraw away from using Mercedes' technology. The reason they claim is because Hyundai is already on par in reaching the high standards of European cars. This is both reported in the Mitsubishi's financial Monthly report as well as the Mercedes Financial Montly Reports. Both the reports can be found on the net, just do a search on Google.com

Okay lah, that's about it that I could share, very new in terms of owning a Hyundai, yet to discover the most from the car as I drive an Iswara (for work) and Perdana (for play) more often than the Hyundai.