IS PAY THE ONLY REAL MOTIVATOR

yes or no. if u have other opinion please specify

• yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
from the main point of management view pay is always a motivator for employee to work hard for the company.

but i think that it depends on occasion and the position of the employee.

sometimes people work to make people happy and its like a motivation.
most non-profit organisation staffs work because they are motivated to work eventhough the pay are low and sometimes no pay at all but they feel that helping people makes them a happier person.

actually in HR, pay is just one of key motivator, other factors can be jobs satisfaction, jobs variety(different tasks in a job)..so in HR some company rotate the position of the employee to keep them interest and motivated.

also on job training can be another motivator, so some company provide many courses and seminars for their staff to motivate them.

Originally posted by links@Mar 29 2005, 01:37
still have to stick back to the maslow hirachy of needs(hate to study it but always come out in management studies)

money can be regards as the key motivator(to fufill basics needs), then only come to jobs security, jobs satisfactions all the way to power and rank....level by level....i think i did that some years ago....

did the assingment ask for one motivator or more than one? i think most of the assignment will asking for the whole set of things, so that can apply the hirachy of needs and explain level by level....

good luck!
[snapback]849135[/snapback]​

dunno about you, but imo, all modern theories are still be based upon the "economic man".
everybody wants to fulfill their desires, money is just the most common example

i m still studyin but with books i read, lots of surveys have been done in the decade. Ppl work because of money. Sometimes, workers tolerate this and that because of the Lame Job because hard to get a job in the world now!!!

no doubt abt it...money is the REAL MOTIVATOR..well, at least for me..why work if u have money?? why work if u can sit around all day long shaking ur legs without a care in the world?? why work if u have an unlimited supply of cash sitting in a swiss bank account??

imho, all those who voted 'NO' are most probably already rich, either fr their own efforts or by inheritance (come fr rich family)..again, this is my opinion, so those who voted 'no' dun come flame me ok...

those born into rich families dun reli know wat its like having to eat ONE meal per day...they can have it all...n most of the time, they do..so, why strive for money if u already have it?? y dun just go for somethin enjoyable?? i would love to be a paleanthologist...digging up dinosaur bones, mummies & all that...but i cant earn a living on dat...so money actually decides a lot of things..not just ur jobs...

im sure there are a handful who disagrees wif me n i totally respect dat...so no offense to anyone...

Yo boggysv,

Yes, things did base on econ.....but when answering the assignment for management studies they always expect ppl to apply those theories....Maslows hierachy of needs, Theory X...Theory Y....fish tank phenomenon...ice berg's theory etc...

in real life practice, these theories may not be applicable...thats the saddness of spending years studied business studies but find totally diff when step into the society and start working.....

Originally posted by links@Apr 12 2005, 18:27
Yo boggysv,

Yes, things did base on econ.....but when answering the assignment for management studies they always expect ppl to apply those theories....Maslows hierachy of needs, Theory X...Theory Y....fish tank phenomenon...ice berg's theory etc...

in real life practice, these theories may not be applicable...thats the saddness of spending years studied business studies but find totally diff when step into the society and start working.....
[snapback]890783[/snapback]​

When I worte "profit, and only profit, is the determinant in today's society" as an essay for my lecturer, he told me to re-read the books :P

seems like we have to study all the theories just to pass the bloody exam...
glad you know how "usefull" they are

lets' say if the salary is not good ... but why do some ppl still stay to work in that job ???

for e.g doctors?

Originally posted by acura@Apr 12 2005, 22:01
lets' say if the salary is not good ... but why do some ppl still stay to work in that job ???

for e.g doctors?
[snapback]891466[/snapback]​

coz they cant leave.
doctors are qualified to be...doctors.
He spent so many years training to be a doctor, not an accountant, not a sales person....
(simply saying, they cant find a suitable job to switch)

but there are some cases of doctors starting businesses of their own.

One guy I know, an insurance seller, abt 25yo, is kinda tied up to that job already.
He has established connections with superiors and customers already, and I dont think he wants to leave all those and start a new job.

you get the idea..

Here's a question since money is the prime motivator to some of you...

how many would you like to have a pay of $4000 per month doing garbage cleaning and road sweeping for say three years? Easy job mah... just sweep the road and take the garbage and throw it away. How many of you want that? Just a question and not an insult...pushing money to the limit where money is the prime motivator...

Originally posted by miqveh@Apr 12 2005, 23:47

how many would you like to have a pay of $4000 per month doing garbage cleaning and road sweeping for say three years? Easy job mah... just sweep the road and take the garbage and throw it away. How many of you want that? Just a question and not an insult...pushing money to the limit where money is the prime motivator...
[snapback]891808[/snapback]​

you think $4000 is alot dont you?
well, it aint enough for me to sweep the roads

For me its JOB SATISFACTION.

Fresh graduates would definitely opt for good money as their first job. I went through that before. But after awhile, money is not the motivator, its job satisfaction. Its pointless of having so much money but does not get the ummmph when working. Another thing if youre a salaried person, more money means more responsibilities and more time at work. Your employers wont pay u that high if your responsibilities are not great rite? Nothing is for free in this world. So wats the point of having too much money but couldnt spend it, not having a balanced life and affects your health. And another thing your stress level is at stake as well. Ive worked as an accountant in a top accounting firm and now as an adviser in a top investment bank. Thrust me, the money is good but if u end up going back at 2.00 a.m in the morning everyday even on weekends its worthless. Cheers!

Originally posted by miqveh@Apr 12 2005, 23:47

[snapback]891808[/snapback]​

fren,

Hk disney land is hiring cleaner with monthly salary of about RM$4500 provide work transport and OT somemore....have chance to get promote..one of their HK director start career in disney land as a cleaner about 30yrs ago!!!.....true story... :blink:

actually its either money or job satisfaction in the career, people will stay in the job if they feel the job does give them good future or makes them happy in their life....or the job is boring and sux but the pay is good....

there is one special occasion just as my friend....the job is sux..the pay is low but......the company belongs to his dad...he cant go anywhere coz his dad wants him to stay :P

Acura,

we got 2 famous doctor who dont stay in their profession as doctor....Dr, Ling and Dr.M... :P

MY TEACHER GAVE ONE EXAMPLE TODAY...

SOME THING TO DO WITH NGO..
IF THEY ASK U TO WORK IN VIETNAM IN THE PLACE WITH LOTS OF LANDMINES FOR $4000USD A MONTH. WOULD U OPS FOR IT? EVEN IF IT'S GONNA RISK YOUR LIFE?

i would if i am desperate for money and my basic necessity like i haven't own a single thing like house and car, once this one is there I will definitely think about luxury if the USD$4,000 can help me get lotsa stuff then i will still take up the offer. But Vietnam so far, i most likely will miss my family but now i have stable income already and not many can afford. If after i work for a few years with this level of salary, i might not get any satisfaction from the job by defiusing bomb and as doctor too, i will search for other more meaningful work to do, to fullfil my personal goal of life.

u see maslow theory still work for a lotsa folks even though they might miss a few odd one in among the earth population!!! :lol:

Originally posted by GTIEVO3@Apr 13 2005, 16:40
For me its JOB SATISFACTION.

Fresh graduates would definitely opt for good money as their first job. I went through that before. But after awhile, money is not the motivator, its job satisfaction. Its pointless of having so much money but does not get the ummmph when working. Another thing if youre a salaried person, more money means more responsibilities and more time at work. Your employers wont pay u that high if your responsibilities are not great rite? Nothing is for free in this world. So wats the point of having too much money but couldnt spend it, not having a balanced life and affects your health. And another thing your stress level is at stake as well. Ive worked as an accountant in a top accounting firm and now as an adviser in a top investment bank. Thrust me, the money is good but if u end up going back at 2.00 a.m in the morning everyday even on weekends its worthless. Cheers!
[snapback]893731[/snapback]​

"..Another thing if youre a salaried person, more money means more responsibilities and more time at work.."-this is so true dude..

Originally posted by links+Apr 13 2005, 17:12 -->
QUOTE(links @ Apr 13 2005, 17:12 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif alt='blink.gif' />

actually its either money or job satisfaction in the career, people will stay in the job if they feel the job does give them good future or makes them happy in their life....or the job is boring and sux but the pay is good....

there is one special occasion just as my friend....the job is sux..the pay is low but......the company belongs to his dad...he cant go anywhere coz his dad wants him to stay https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />

Acura,

we got 2 famous doctor who dont stay in their profession as doctor....Dr, Ling and Dr.M... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />
[snapback]893806[/snapback]​
[/b]

Well you can't compare the lifestyle over there and here. What I'm trying to say is yes...4k is alot... here as a road sweeper. You can't compare what you have here and there. So if you take a look at things. 4K is sufficient for junior executive level here in Malaysia. On the average of course. Some managers I know don't reach this level but some others do. What I'm saying is the job is easy but are you looking at money point of view or status? Job satisfaction is what we want... but satisfied with what aspect? Money? Status? Work itself? Work environment? I know some guys who could get more pay outside but they choose to stay in the company. Pay is slightly below average but the environment is good. No politics, people are friendly, work is heavy at times, boss treats you well...but pay isn't the one motivation for all those people. So from my example, what is that you working people want? I know others who change BMWs every two years but these people work like machine...no life. Is that what you want? Money isn't a problem for them but no life. So the extreames are one the table... just find what you like, want etc. I often give that analogy. If a road sweeper were to be paid that high... would you accept it? If you were to ask a road sweeper now and told him that he/she is bonded for three years doing this stuff he/she is doing now... I think they will hold it tight never let it go. But would you? Would I?

2 things.

1. Pay
2. Job satisfaction

If you are working for someone, pay is always the key motivator because by end of the day, you are just being paid to do a job. Yes, some jobs bring satisfaction but how many? Maybe 20%?

70% of working people are only after the salary / commission. Period.

The rest 30% are going after job satisfaction (own business perhaps?).

It is almost impossible to find a job which fulfills both unless the owner or manager give you some company shares via ESOS. If so, then you will feel motivated to work harder and aiming for the best because of year end bonus or profit sharing.

For short, is pay the key motivator?

Yes, if you are employed.
No, if you are self-employed.