Modding A 4g93 N/A Engine...Give ur comments pls ppl

nice putra..thanks for the response..neway just wanna ask u whether u know nasrin drive satria gti..coz ur spec almost the same with his..n i supposed his car,but i bought a putra instead...really regret for not buying his car last time..

Spoon))) said:
nice putra..thanks for the response..neway just wanna ask u whether u know nasrin drive satria gti..coz ur spec almost the same with his..n i supposed his car,but i bought a putra instead...really regret for not buying his car last time..

Yup, I know him personally. Share almost the same spec with his actually. Should you bought his car, u do not have to do anything more unless u want to go for full race spec. BUt putra also good - same engine so has the same potential :regular_smile:

spyderslr said:
niceputera: so u r from ipoh....?......i only goes bak to ipoh once in a while....actually i have limited knowledge on valve angle jobs....would like to know more tho....cant really seem to understand the function of doin a valve angle job and also how its been done......do u Port it....?...or Polish it....?...or reshape it to various angles...??.....hope u can enlighten me abit....thx....cheerzzz

Talk about vavle reprofiling, 2 days 3 nights also can't cover the topic. It's too complicated. But judging by the way u ask the questions, U seem to know more than just "limited knowledge" hahhaha...:regular_smile:

niceputera said:
My answer:

1) Both are good. Satria 's will be safer in terms of timing setting. Mivec's will need you to careful a bit and are prone more to knocking. Whatever u do, try not to exceed 12.0:1 CR. Generally, that is the limit of Ron 98. OEM Satria piston has several designs as well. Look same but it's not. Choose wisely.

2) J5 - u need to refer this matter to Matspeed. My personal opinion it cannot be done. Not necessarily to use J5 - e-manage, Unichip, Smt6, Obit are all good. Just find a good tuner to tune it for u. A piggyback / standalone is only as good as the tuner - if u get what I mean.

3) I'm not sure about the fuel pump capacity. But in general, if u do not increase the std factory fuel pressure level, than it still can withstand the increase in power. Fuel pump max. operating capacity is highly depending on the fuel pressure. The more pressure being applied, the less max HP it can withstand. With std setting, '93p fuel pump can support up to 300bhp power.

MY advice, do not change it yet. U (or ur dyno operator) will know when the is shortage of fuel from the dyno reading. 1st thing to do is to change the injector to 1+ size rather than to go for the fuel pump (assuming u can mod ur car to more than 250bhp if not leave it alone :regular_smile: ). The factory part is quite good already.

4) No benefit, just concentrate on the REAL things.

5) Ratio 1-5 same as SGTi/Putra/1.5. Final drive I'm not sure. I've forgotten. Maybe somebody else can help.

Rgds.

niceputera,thanks again for anwser's for the above...im pretty clearer now on it,very much actually.

Spoon))) said:
wah..a lot of information la this thread.. really good la...satria81,we are in the same boat..i just bought a putra and planning to modify it..after reading this thread, i can finally get the picture on how to mod my car,coz it totally different from my last car which was eg..

niceputra,can wanna invite u for a drink or two la..wanna gain more information la..

rgrds

Spoon))),

Yeap, with no doubt this thread has got lots of informative information n secret recipe's filled in by real generous ones...its just that to get it down in the rightful way to obtain the delivery of power!its good, so good.

llsaw said:
Hello Niceputera,

Good to hear another member from the Matspeed club. How is Charlie doing these days? Do join me at http://thespfiles.blogspot.com/

Charlie is doing fine. Just have a chat with him 3 weeks ago. He is full with new ideas. He is doing something new with '93 engine. Still in the R&D stage but hopefully successful.

U r from Penang if I'm not mistaken, right? SGti club member right? I'll join u. Thanks. :regular_smile:

satria81 said:
niceputera,thanks again for anwser's for the above...im pretty clearer now on it,very much actually.

That is why I'm here, to share with friends. No point just keeping it to myself. We share the same interest - car modification. I'm looking foward to hear from others too so that I can learn new things.

niceputera said:
That is why I'm here, to share with friends. No point just keeping it to myself. We share the same interest - car modification. I'm looking foward to hear from others too so that I can learn new things.

Niseputra,,are u using MAF sensor ?? With your spec, i beleive you can bump more horsepower with a Microtech MAP wirings:regular_smile: perhaps can gain at least 15hp more. Do you mind sharing with me your cam setting,,how many advance and retard you run on the intake & exhaust ? what is the power like,,,more to midrage or top end ?

1 more thing,,,you get that tourque figure with 4g93 intake or GSR intake ? any port doing on the intake itself ? wanna share.

niceputera said:
Charlie is doing fine. Just have a chat with him 3 weeks ago. He is full with new ideas. He is doing something new with '93 engine. Still in the R&D stage but hopefully successful.

U r from Penang if I'm not mistaken, right? SGti club member right? I'll join u. Thanks. :regular_smile:
llsaw drive putra :)

V8_nutter said:
Niseputra,,are u using MAF sensor ?? With your spec, i beleive you can bump more horsepower with a Microtech MAP wirings:regular_smile: perhaps can gain at least 15hp more. Do you mind sharing with me your cam setting,,how many advance and retard you run on the intake & exhaust ? what is the power like,,,more to midrage or top end ?

1 more thing,,,you get that tourque figure with 4g93 intake or GSR intake ? any port doing on the intake itself ? wanna share.

Yes, still with the maf sensor and 93's intake. Yes I do believe it can gain more with MAP wiring but it will requires standalone ecu which an idea that have been put into hold due to high cost involved. IF I do run standalone I will definitely go for 4 throttle for the top end power and with some trumpet length tuning I believe I still can gain a strong mid range torque. :regular_smile:

I always believe to have a strong engine for daily usage (yes I use my car daily) it must has a strong low, mid and high tork. Maybe some will say that we cannot have all the tork at all rpm range. I believe the otherwise. That was why when I started building my engine, all the mods were towards high torque increase.

My engine starts to give 150Nm+- at 3000++rpm and up the way till 210Nm++ at 5000rpm+-. A 2.0 vtec will give 200Nm++ when the vtec opens at mid range rpm level (sorry forgot the vtec open point- somebody can help here). And I still have around 180Nm torque at 7100rpm. If you plot my dyno figure, u can see that my torque curve is considered very flat compare to 2.0 vtec that only shows high figure when the high lobe vtec function comes into play.

And all these is still without my anti reverse and staggered long primaries 4-2-1 F1 style header! Money is the limitation here.

I've answer the cam setting before. Maybe u can check again ya.

And the best thing is I spend less than 7k for all the mods and tuning. Something that vtec connot give with the same amount of money. (but of course I did most of the mods under my own supervision and no specific workshop that handles all of it thus enabled me to cut the cost down).

id be happy n only satisfied if i can get the power delivered with reliability.....yeap RELIABILITY ,its seriously a important factor esp in a car of daily usage

satria81 said:
id be happy n only satisfied if i can get the power delivered with reliability.....yeap RELIABILITY ,its seriously a important factor esp in a car of daily usage
True. :regular_smile:

u don wanna be in a situation where by ur machine takes of really quick like a rocket on start n stops after a quarter mile or so....hahha...imagine that:)

niceputera : my knowledge on valve angle jobs is indeed limited.......i've oni done some search here and there + some long staring at the valve heads of a 93 DOHC and Mivec......basically what i'm very curious n cant really understand is that how they do a valve angle job......if a valve angle job requires to grind/reprofile/polish or whatever the term is, wouldnt tat means tat the valves wouldnt b able to shut properly...???.....coz even in stock form, there's already very little room to spare for the valves to shut tight....n even in stock form, i noticed tat its already 3 angled...!!!....unless its a totally different process.......or does tat means tat we need a bigger valve after valve angle job has been done....???.....plz do englighten me abit.....thx and cheerz mate....

BTW.. who in Malaysia can do long primary 4-2-1 with anti-reversion chambers? The R3 4-1 extended (long) header is quite good.

k&n air filter ...
can get more volume and more CFM into the egine...
so that u car can get more air...
among all filters,k&n can be reuseable lah...not like hks one have to refilled after 10000km...
cheers....
just my 2 cents...