exhaust piping diameter...

i prefer to spend on sumthing dats needed at dat particular time, as those unnecessary mods u have now may not be necessary in the future. its not about winning, but expenditure sir, especially a big amount. u will get a better torque curve when using the std typeR zorst and tune it up properly, with a lotta extra to spend on sumthing else. better gain, and not overspending, dats my way of doing an engine.

dat b16a was bog std, it started out with around 120hp and ended up having +-165hp (120lbft of flat torque) on the dyno dynamics, gains a lot for both across the revv range. nuthing was done to the engine except for the tuning process, it wasnt a b16b fyi. tq sir

i think there's two ways of doing it... like akuma mentioned, probably thats when u have done the basic IHE mods, then perhaps its time to look at something that can accommodate your next/future enhancement..

xtremeleo's way is rather for the poor and budget like me. making the best out of every penny spent.. hahahaha

either way, both of u have valid points. depends on the person who reads, and which route he prefers to take.

i'd listen to both and check my wallet. hahahah

I deal with steel pipes in my job... We have what it called "schedule" on pipes...

example, we will have 2" schedule 10 pipe and 2" schedule 40 pipe.... in this case, the schedule 40 has a thicker wall. The OUTER diameter always the same regardless of wall thickness.

SCH10 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thinkness = 0.109; hence inner diameter is 2.157"
SCH40 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thickness = 0.154; hence inner diameter is 2.067"

In your case, I should think the exhaust manufacturer is call the "system" a 2.3" system based on the outer diameter for the convenient of marketing.... I haven't come acorss 0.3" gap type of pipe measurement before... the pipe size goes like 1/2", 3/4", 1", 1 1/4" 1 1/2", 2", 2 1/2", 3"

Hope it helps...

Now that's some good info man...

---------- Post added at 10:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:16 PM ----------

understood sir, and good to point it out. i was comparing the expenditure for dat zorst to be fitted in, a 1hp gain, or 5hp gain in sum of the revv band isnt worth it, i wudve tuned the engine with the std zorst. ive seen a gain of 40hp in a b16a when tuned properly on the dyno dynamics. now, dats sumthing to talk about. can u imagine whats the improvement across the revv range sir? a lot more then 5hp fyi

extremeleo,
depends on wat stage of tune ur in...whn u say u've seen a 40hp gain frm a B16A,my question wud b,wat was d baseline reading?of course dat cud happen coz i've seen it myself on my B16B,by just changing d header n fine tuning my VAFC.let's say u haf a B16A pushing ard 170whp,dat's QUITE @ it's limit(w.out touching d internals).....@ dat moment,if u were 2 spend say like a few Ks 4 a reputable exos system(whc i assume will still b able 2 support further mods) isn't really a bad investment....especially whn u come across sumthg dat is rare n u know it'll fit ur budget/car/objective,by all means,grab it.....doesn't matter if u only gain like 1hp NOW,it'll come in handy la8 on..............

i wud just like 2 stress again my point whn it comes 2 modding.....look @ d overall powerband....if 1 has a 170whp B16A,doesn't necessarily mean sum1 w a 160whp B16A will loose.it all depends on HOW d power is developed n how d power is put down 2 d ground...

cheers n happy modding......yeeehharrrr!!!!!!!!

i prefer to spend on sumthing dats needed at dat particular time, as those unnecessary mods u have now may not be necessary in the future. its not about winning, but expenditure sir, especially a big amount. u will get a better torque curve when using the std typeR zorst and tune it up properly, with a lotta extra to spend on sumthing else. better gain, and not overspending, dats my way of doing an engine.

dat b16a was bog std, it started out with around 120hp and ended up having +-165hp (120lbft of flat torque) on the dyno dynamics, gains a lot for both across the revv range. nuthing was done to the engine except for the tuning process, it wasnt a b16b fyi. tq sir

Many roads to one target...

To me, tuning can be categorised into 1) tuning; 2) fine tuning. The former is some hardware mods that are affordable that will yield you some nice big figures and the latter somewhat yields marginal gains. The higher one go in fine tuning, the more money is spent for diminishing returns. I think fine tune functions more to maximize the potential that is provided by the normal tuning/mods and not to produce huge amount of power by themselves. Huge budget is needed for these that's why a lot of fine tuning is only done in races where there are sponsors. They really squeeze every single hp out of an engine. Like a rectum of a person having diarrhea constantly clenching and squeezing out every single bit of ****. Of course, if one have the time, passion and budget, fine tuning is really satisfying in the end!!!

aikkss???did sum1 deleted my post?or did i 4got 2 click d reply button?i believe i left a question for xtremeleo.anyway,i'll repost.

"dat b16a was bog std, it started out with around 120hp and ended up having +-165hp (120lbft of flat torque) on the dyno dynamics, gains a lot for both across the revv range. nuthing was done to the engine except for the tuning process, it wasnt a b16b fyi. tq sir"--->whr was dis done n who is d tuner?frm a bog std 120hp B16A can get 165hp w standard Type R exos + tuning alone?dis is truly amazing result!i gotta learn more frm dis tuner.cud u kindly share w us d information?thx

wow.. this thread is very technical..

for me.. i prefer to get an aftermarket exhaust system, rather than the 'pakar ekzos' one..

because of this

http://www.ripleysmufflerandbrakes.com/images/mandrel-bent-vs-press-bent-exhaust.jpg

:biggrin:

aikkss???did sum1 deleted my post?or did i 4got 2 click d reply button?i believe i left a question for xtremeleo.anyway,i'll repost.

"dat b16a was bog std, it started out with around 120hp and ended up having +-165hp (120lbft of flat torque) on the dyno dynamics, gains a lot for both across the revv range. nuthing was done to the engine except for the tuning process, it wasnt a b16b fyi. tq sir"--->whr was dis done n who is d tuner?frm a bog std 120hp B16A can get 165hp w standard Type R exos + tuning alone?dis is truly amazing result!i gotta learn more frm dis tuner.cud u kindly share w us d information?thx

it was using a 2inch pipe, following the original route, but with a straight tanabe muffler. tuning was done via an emanage, by joshua thiran of millennium motorsports asia. if we were able to get the FD2R muffler, it wud give better response in the lower end imo

wow.. this thread is very technical..

for me.. i prefer to get an aftermarket exhaust system, rather than the 'pakar ekzos' one..

because of this

http://www.ripleysmufflerandbrakes.com/images/mandrel-bent-vs-press-bent-exhaust.jpg

:biggrin:

Dude, nowadays reputable pakar exhaust got mandrel bending.

i agree w Veloc,nowadays,u'd b surprised by wat dis so-called pakar exos can do!n i personally know alot of DC5 & FD2R owners customm their exos w dis pakar exos....very good results n of course,very reasonable price too...............
most exos shops stock pre-bent pipes..i'm using a pipe meant 4 4dr EG,it was improvised 2 fit my 2dr EF chasis....no problem 1.....

xtremeleo,
1 of dis days,i'll drop by Millenium Motorsport n consult Joshua.i know who he is but i've never been 2 his shop.coz frm my knowledge,dyno dynamics usually haf an "extra" 8% load compared w a dynojet....so,IF d B16A u stated did 165hp on a dyno dynamics,it shud b registering ard 180hp on a dynojet!4 me,dis is UNHEARD of frm a stock B16A w minimal mods(Type R exos + E-Manage only)......r dis figure on d wheel or wat?VERY INTERESTING!

to us, the reading from the dynamic need not be added or subtracted from any value, we take the value as it is. when we see 165 on there, its 165 and nuthing more, nuthing less.

again, dat b16a in a ferio wasnt using a type R zorst, it was using a bigger pipe with a straight muffler, dats all

location please..

i wanna do some mandrel bending too :biggrin:

My area in Sabah la... Penampang there... Got one exhaust shop can do. Its not widely available though. Only 1 or 2 shops here. Last time a friend went there to custom his intake pipe because he fit in simota open pod. But that is an exhaust shop.

If a place like kk got 1 place can do, I'm sure kl got wan... search la...:driver:

My area in Sabah la... Penampang there... Got one exhaust shop can do. Its not widely available though. Only 1 or 2 shops here. Last time a friend went there to custom his intake pipe because he fit in simota open pod. But that is an exhaust shop.

If a place like kk got 1 place can do, I'm sure kl got wan... search la...:driver:

hehe.. asking around is d easiest method of searching :biggrin:

so, any1 here know any shop that do mandrel bending.. please stand up.. please stand up..

oops.. thats eminem..

what i meant was.. plz post it here.. :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Hello everybody....
as far as i know...for japan n stell piping 2.3" is inside diameter not from outside to outside.for normal piping (besi putih) 2.3"is outside to outside diameter....it,s ok to you to go with 2.3" besi puith for b16a.ada duit lebih go for steel n ori pipng japan.performence mmg ada different ma....bunyik lagu syok steel piping....

Just wonder how can a japan piping makes so much different? If same diameter and material wise??