k3nny said:simon: Just for my knowledge because i do not know, on what legal grounds will one pursue if his number plates and vehicle description were posted on a public forum on the internet?
Its a law that publishing a car's registration numbers (where the public can access to read ) to mention that that car has committed an offence or something negative abt that car is an offence. Only the police or JPJ are allowed to publish car reg. numbers to track them for offences ALLEGEDLY COMMITTED , that also a person is not guilty until proven or convicted. So even if someone casually publishes a car's plate & say that this car has committed & behaved in such & such a way , the owner of that car can make a police report against the person who published his number without police permission. This is to curb every Tom Dick & Harry from publishing other ppl plates & say that this car & that car was driven in this manner or that manner and start to make allegations.......BUT what prove do they have ????? In a forum we can mention or descrip a car but not publish the no.plates bcos the public can read this forum . I can even file a legal suit against any person publishing my car plates without proper evidence or police permission because they are tarnishing my image by alleging that i drive in a dangerous manner........

simon said:Its a law that publishing a car's registration numbers (where the public can access to read ) to mention that that car has committed an offence or something negative abt that car is an offence. Only the police or JPJ are allowed to publish car reg. numbers to track them for offences ALLEGEDLY COMMITTED , that also a person is not guilty until proven or convicted. So even if someone casually publishes a car's plate & say that this car has committed & behaved in such & such a way , the owner of that car can make a police report against the person who published his number without police permission. This is to curb every Tom Dick & Harry from publishing other ppl plates & say that this car & that car was driven in this manner or that manner and start to make allegations.......BUT what prove do they have ????? In a forum we can mention or descrip a car but not publish the no.plates bcos the public can read this forum . I can even file a legal suit against any person publishing my car plates without proper evidence or police permission because they are tarnishing my image by alleging that i drive in a dangerous manner........
cheeft said:this incident happen to my gf... in sunway... as usual traffic jam n my gf is queuing up n this stupid fella try to cut queue... so my gf dont let him in because everybody also queuing up like hell n u just try to cut queue like tat... then u know wat, this stupid fella wind down his window n keep on scolding... my gf dun bother bout him... n to my gf surprise he hit her side mirror n start scolding... n tat really freak my gf out... so no chioce but to let tat stupid fella past because she is quite freak out n secondly she need to adjust her side mirror... this stupid fella is definately not a gentleman at all...bully a lady in broad sunlight...![]()
Izso said:But I'd like to point out something here. Everyone always views their points is the "right" way.. isn't this really in the eye of the beholder? I mean, these psycho bastard drivers may have their own reasons for driving like maniacal suicidal morons. I mean "Oh.. my balls were shrinking so I had to drive like a moron and almost run over a pedestrian" is a good reason if you think about it. Or "I had sh*t flowing out of my ears so I didn't hear you coming".
So let's all be sentimental to these inconsiderate drivers and try to understand their situation.
cheeft said:this incident happen to my gf... in sunway... as usual traffic jam n my gf is queuing up n this stupid fella try to cut queue... so my gf dont let him in because everybody also queuing up like hell n u just try to cut queue like tat... then u know wat, this stupid fella wind down his window n keep on scolding... my gf dun bother bout him... n to my gf surprise he hit her side mirror n start scolding... n tat really freak my gf out... so no chioce but to let tat stupid fella past because she is quite freak out n secondly she need to adjust her side mirror... this stupid fella is definately not a gentleman at all...bully a lady in broad sunlight...![]()
simon said:k3nny said:simon: Just for my knowledge because i do not know, on what legal grounds will one pursue if his number plates and vehicle description were posted on a public forum on the internet?
Its a law that publishing a car's registration numbers (where the public can access to read ) to mention that that car has committed an offence or something negative abt that car is an offence. Only the police or JPJ are allowed to publish car reg. numbers to track them for offences ALLEGEDLY COMMITTED , that also a person is not guilty until proven or convicted. So even if someone casually publishes a car's plate & say that this car has committed & behaved in such & such a way , the owner of that car can make a police report against the person who published his number without police permission. This is to curb every Tom Dick & Harry from publishing other ppl plates & say that this car & that car was driven in this manner or that manner and start to make allegations.......BUT what prove do they have ????? In a forum we can mention or descrip a car but not publish the no.plates bcos the public can read this forum . I can even file a legal suit against any person publishing my car plates without proper evidence or police permission because they are tarnishing my image by alleging that i drive in a dangerous manner........
So basically what you are saying is that i cannot, in a public manner, accuse someone of driving in a dangerous manner? Whether or not he did remains to be proven but im not allowed to accuse him of his alleged offences?
On the presumption that i was involved in an accident and i saw a witness speed away. I would put up advertisements or notices around where it occured asking the owner of vehicle W** **** to come up and bear witness to this incident.
But he would sue me for defamation because i tarnished his image by alleging that he speeds away from the scenes of accidents without lending a hand.
To my understanding, it would not be against the law to post ones liscence plate and mention what one witnessed. After all, its my word against yours.
A forum is just as well a newspaper or an advert on a public notice board in a university or a piece of paper on a wall in some shady apartment in Cheras. Its all public access.
Im sure some penal code references here would help alot as im confused as to how to go about filing a legal suit against someone for defamation if he posts my car plates on a forum and mentions i drive like an idiot.
k3nny said:simon said:So basically what you are saying is that i cannot, in a public manner, accuse someone of driving in a dangerous manner? Whether or not he did remains to be proven but im not allowed to accuse him of his alleged offences?
On the presumption that i was involved in an accident and i saw a witness speed away. I would put up advertisements or notices around where it occured asking the owner of vehicle W** **** to come up and bear witness to this incident.
But he would sue me for defamation because i tarnished his image by alleging that he speeds away from the scenes of accidents without lending a hand.
To my understanding, it would not be against the law to post ones liscence plate and mention what one witnessed. After all, its my word against yours.
A forum is just as well a newspaper or an advert on a public notice board in a university or a piece of paper on a wall in some shady apartment in Cheras. Its all public access.
Im sure some penal code references here would help alot as im confused as to how to go about filing a legal suit against someone for defamation if he posts my car plates on a forum and mentions i drive like an idiot.
if you re involved in an accident & need the witness to come forward or if its a hit-and-run case , basically u will need to make a police report & they will publish vehicle plates requesting the owner to come forward as witness & they will quote their police station tel. numbers as contact person at the bottom of the ad. even if the police are looking for culprits pls note that in their ad they will never quote "this person has committed this crime" instead they will put "this person is needed to assist in our investigations into this case" or "the owner this vehicle need to come forward to assist in inves....." they are very careful in putting up ads. even if looking for murderers/robbers they will put " this person is believed to be responsible for a spate of robberies" the police are careful with the ad bcos even they can be sued by individuals......so why not you & me ???
you cannot simply put up notices & ads in public place without police permission. even if you want to accuse someone of dangerous driving you still have to report to the police to nab him & not take the law into your hands. then police will summon him to come to the station & then if you can prove he drove dangerously then you can file a case & sue him for causing you to feel frightened bcos of his driving habit.
i am not sure of penal code as i am not a lawyer or police. you can consult a lawyer & then they will quote you hundreds of reasons why you can file a suit against someone or even the government.