drive with switch on emergency light during heavy rain

AccordRacing

today 13/10/05 nite,there was super heavy rain in kl area,i was driving c22 van at MRR2 hi way toward kepong,then some others driver just switch on emergency light,when i get close it,those new car signal lamp reflect very bright n keep shining really influence me to drive,just wan to know that is it got such rule switch on emergency light during rainny day?

those who switch on hazard lights during heavy downpour is sohai's, hazard is for emergency only. i repeat emergency ONLY!

Real sohai... I honked at one Sentra after he or she switched on hazard lights and drive very slowly on the right lane! TNS!

I heard that hazards lights are for emergency use only. Eg, car broke down or in an accident.

acbc said:
Real sohai... I honked at one Sentra after he or she switched on hazard lights and drive very slowly on the right lane! TNS!

totally agreed

when it starts to rain a bit heavy turn on your small lights!
heavy, turn on head lights n not the freaking hazard!
those buggers think they switch on hazzard make ppl c u better ka??
like every1 here says, hazard is oni for emergencies!!!
hate those idiots!!! bodoh nye!!

qencing said:
when it starts to rain a bit heavy turn on your small lights!
heavy, turn on head lights n not the freaking hazard!
those buggers think they switch on hazzard make ppl c u better ka??
like every1 here says, hazard is oni for emergencies!!!
hate those idiots!!! bodoh nye!!

heheh but sometime or always we saw stupidility of those driver... never ON small/head light during heavy rain but they switch ON hazard light.

hahahah bangang.

Turn on headlight and automatically tail light will be visible but hazard "blinks" so .. its more visible .. "Blinking Orange" light .. and this will keep the rear driver to be alert more. Thats y some people do like this.

We cant press the brake to make rear taillight to be bright and accelerate at the same time and move forward & not everyone are "Keiichi Tsuchiya". And at the same time heavy rain session, the rear taillight wont be visible, visibly poor. So, in my opinion using hazard light in heavy rain which causes poor visibility he he remember again " heavy rain which causes poor visibility " is considered acceptable.

Commonly, our rear light "red" are just bulb and not LED. LED's are more brighter.

Hey guy do we in take the different L test ???? coz my driving course told us when Heavy we should switch on what ever light to make our car visible ..... and drive slow at the left lane ....... (hehehhe me too old different Test)

I do switch on Hazard when is not rain cause the idiot behind is on HIGH BEAM .......

Ban High Beam ....

sakuraguy said:
Turn on headlight and automatically tail light will be visible but hazard "blinks" so .. its more visible .. "Blinking Orange" light .. and this will keep the rear driver to be alert more. Thats y some people do like this.

We cant press the brake to make rear taillight to be bright and accelerate at the same time and move forward & not everyone are "Keiichi Tsuchiya". And at the same time heavy rain session, the rear taillight wont be visible, visibly poor. So, in my opinion using hazard light in heavy rain which causes poor visibility he he remember again " heavy rain which causes poor visibility " is considered acceptable.

Commonly, our rear light "red" are just bulb and not LED. LED's are more brighter.

i try it just now behind the new city with crystal type tail lamp,he drive slow at rite lane with switching on its hazard light,my windscreen wet n the signal lamp keep blinking really influence my concentration during driving,some more when driving if u switch on hazard light then meet a junction how u show the signal to change lane?

like what the smarter drivers here said already:

only use the Hazard lights WHEN you're stationary. You'll confuse ppl by switching them on while you're moving in traffic!

and yes, how on earth are you gonna signal left or right when your hazards are on?

*slaps forehead*

pls think guys and gals.

switching on lights to main beam is usually good already and pls observe common sense speeds. The heavier the rain, the slower you go BUT not too slow that you become a farking road hazard.

AccordRacing said:
i try it just now behind the new city with crystal type tail lamp,he drive slow at rite lane with switching on its hazard light,my windscreen wet n the signal lamp keep blinking really influence my concentration during driving,some more when driving if u switch on hazard light then meet a junction how u show the signal to change lane?

totaly agree wit u la...
u can never know where r they goin when they reach junction...
n not oni junction... if a car is behind the fella who has their hazard light on, . we r beside them... we might tot that, that fella wanna switch lane... n we might give way.
but all u know that he has his hazard lights on...

Here we use the hazard light when we stop on the side to get some munchies at 7 Eleven.. If you stop and only use the left signal, you'll get fined if caught.. That doesn't seem to be the case in Msia..

Hazard lights are only for stalled or STATIONARY vehicles.

If you switch on your hazard lights during rain (be it pussy rain or thunderstorms) you yourself become the hazard, geddit?

Apart from can't-indicate-where-are-you-going bit, you also give the impression to the people at behind you that you are in a stationary vehicle.
If this becomes the culture (hazard lights during rain), then we'll have a real problem when a real stationary/stalled vehicle with hazard lights on (say on the right lane).
Instead of braking we'd just slow down behind it and BANG!
Common sense dictates, and what we see everyday will influence us on how we would react.
End of story.

There were cases, like some of you've said, where drivers would quickly react to switching on the hazard lights but didn't switch on the dipped headlights, which is far more crucial. Esp. for evening or early morning downpour. Whatever the time is, just switch on the headlights!

Please, please, please, DO NOT switch on your hazard lights while driving during rain, but switch on your headlights instead!

u noe wat.. we all should install a red coloured strobe light or any other colour besides orange at our backlight...exspecially for raining purposes..heheh cool heh?? so that we noe wether the car is stationary or moving..only moving use strobe light and hazard light for staionary..hehe

yea.. last nite really heavy downpour.. i was enroute fr subang to KL via the federal highway........ the whole way i see ppl with hazard lightz on. An accident occured of federal highway, near the interchange to subang airport... those sure has hazard lightz on coz 3 cars pile up on middle lane... but other moving cars also hazard lightz on.. so itz freaking misleading...

under such heavy downpour, u dont know or can't really judge whatz moving and not. So one may assume tat the ones stationary wit hazard lightz are moving, so u'll end up crashing into them.

those fella oughta send back to driving school.

Heh maybe it's just different rules and regulations in different country.

I know in Malaysia, switching on your hazard lights means that your car is stationary so be aware kinda meaning..

but in Korea, we switch on the hazard lights for many uses u know keke
for example, if there's a heavy downpour, we are "taught" to switch it on to let others behind you know that your car is "there" -_-;

we also switch on our hazard lights during heavy fog when the visibility is almost 0. can't see shit in the fog (some of those frequent visitors to genting should know) we switch it on so that people behind you see your hazard lights and don't come bang into you...

Nowadays, it is like understood..when you cut queue or you did somethng wrong while driving and you feel bad, we on our hazard lights to tell them sorry la~~ +_+
when we wanna park, we on our hazard lights to tell the car behind you that you wanna park instead of left/right signals ^^;

i dunno, i guess it's just different in different countries ^^;

Turn off your hazard lights!!!

I just can't stand these idiots who turn on the hazard lights when raining. I mean, what do these people have on their minds? Just turning on your headlamp and tail lights are enough. It's impossibble for the person behind you not being able to see your tail lamps. I totally disagree about driving with the hazard lights on. Please guys, be considerate.

bAbE83 said:
Heh maybe it's just different rules and regulations in different country.

I know in Malaysia, switching on your hazard lights means that your car is stationary so be aware kinda meaning..

but in Korea, we switch on the hazard lights for many uses u know keke
for example, if there's a heavy downpour, we are "taught" to switch it on to let others behind you know that your car is "there" -_-;

we also switch on our hazard lights during heavy fog when the visibility is almost 0. can't see shit in the fog (some of those frequent visitors to genting should know) we switch it on so that people behind you see your hazard lights and don't come bang into you...

Nowadays, it is like understood..when you cut queue or you did somethng wrong while driving and you feel bad, we on our hazard lights to tell them sorry la~~ +_+
when we wanna park, we on our hazard lights to tell the car behind you that you wanna park instead of left/right signals ^^;

i dunno, i guess it's just different in different countries ^^;
u're korean?

but anyhow, we practice what is practiced in M'sia. ;)