Malfunctioning Fuel Pump

all i can say is, install a fuel press meter.. it's important to have one as well... previously my 280lph SARD fuel pump failed... fortunately during that period i was running in my clutch, so there weren't any rough driving.. when i sent my car in for servicing and tuning, they found out my fuel pump had problems... via... fuel press meter.. it showed i was losing pressure... then replaced the fuel pump..and was fine after that... but still.. 280lph was not enuff!! hahaah.. didnt had time to get something higher than that (or install 2x pumps...) so it'll do for d moment...

Got myself a fuel press meter after that....

Originally posted by Danny+Oct 28 2004, 02:47 -->
QUOTE (Danny @ Oct 28 2004, 02:47 )
--QuoteBegin-vestax
@Oct 27 2004, 21:28
aiyo danny ,
miton's saga CT26 is runing on 380bhp , 155lph where got enough :lol:

380hp monster, no wonder not enough. What kind of fuel pump r u using btw miton? Curious to know what kind of pump is sufficient for 380hp application. [/b][/quote]
you listen to that fella la danny...my car if got 380hp i wont need to save up for a LTX-8s...
previously i was running an RB25 Pump. then kondem. then changed to FC fuel pump and push the pressure up kow kow...kondem. same goes to the FD fuel pump. kondem. now running RB26 fuel pump with 3.5 bar fuel pressure...also kondem. the fuel pressure now will stay at 3 bar but then once the engine on load the pressure drops.

boring la...wanna throw the engine away and use carby. no need to worry about pump this pump that... :lol:

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Oct 28 2004, 09:48
all i can say is, install a fuel press meter.. it's important to have one as well... previously my 280lph SARD fuel pump failed... fortunately during that period i was running in my clutch, so there weren't any rough driving.. when i sent my car in for servicing and tuning, they found out my fuel pump had problems... via... fuel press meter.. it showed i was losing pressure... then replaced the fuel pump..and was fine after that... but still.. 280lph was not enuff!! hahaah.. didnt had time to get something higher than that (or install 2x pumps...) so it'll do for d moment...

get the water pump from swimming pool that able to fill up the pool in 2 days.
mod it to ur car as fuel pump. sure enough fuel liaw. kekekeke
ur car cc can fight with those pool liaw

err... umm.. hmm.... don think so kwa..only raise the pressure

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Oct 28 2004, 10:48
previously i was running an RB25 Pump. then kondem. then changed to FC fuel pump and push the pressure up kow kow...kondem. same goes to the FD fuel pump. kondem. now running RB26 fuel pump with 3.5 bar fuel pressure...also kondem. the fuel pressure now will stay at 3 bar but then once the engine on load the pressure drops.

boring la...wanna throw the engine away and use carby. no need to worry about pump this pump that... :lol:
change pumps so many times adi. Each change probably set u back 100~200 bucks rite? (if u change 3~4 times, mioght have to spend 800~1,000 bucks)

have u considered Walboro? it pushes 255lph. RM750 at KSP

but if u put higher pressure pump, u're car will be running richer rite??coz u're ecu will still fire the same amount. so waste la like that....

fuond out MY old fuel pump gonna kondem cos got one stupid "KREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE" noise.. that was for a while only.

Later change internal pump, then put surge tank + the bosch pumps. Yeeeha!
Erm, they still ARE up for grabs... :P

MitonCT26>
Same like yr thinking...I NA oredi la... retired.

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Oct 28 2004, 09:48

Hehe...Blackie & Guys....dont forget when u change pumps, u must change the fuel filters too.Wont help if you have the best pump with a clogged fuel filter. :P :D

Originally posted by ramsing@Oct 28 2004, 13:47
but if u put higher pressure pump, u're car will be running richer rite??coz u're ecu will still fire the same amount. so waste la like that....
Theoritically, No. With higher fuel pump pressure, your car will not run richer, unless the injector's duty cycle is altered.

With higher pressure, the fuel injected will be finer and better atomizing with intake air.

Tats where adjustable FPRs comes into play, balancing the fuel pressure so that the engine idles smootly as well as sufficeint fuel when boost comes in.

Originally posted by MRMIC2@Oct 28 2004, 14:39
Hehe...Blackie & Guys....dont forget when u change pumps, u must change the fuel filters too.Wont help if you have the best pump with a clogged fuel filter. :P :D
Then what is the lifespan of a normal fuel filter? 1 year? How often should the fuel filter be changed?

Regards;

about 40k KM must changed i think..but i changed at 100k km....hahaha :P

miton, why all your rb25 fuel pump always condemn? Make me scared only... coz I am installing one now.

Originally posted by JUN+Oct 28 2004, 16:45 -->
QUOTE (JUN @ Oct 28 2004, 16:45 )
--QuoteBegin-MRMIC2
@Oct 28 2004, 14:39

Then what is the lifespan of a normal fuel filter? 1 year? How often should the fuel filter be changed?

Regards; [/b][/quote]
how much is a fuel filter la aiyo...change only la every time you change engine oil...or every alternate time lor. wont cost you more than rm50 wat.

even merc ones are cheap wat...last time i worked in workshop leh i know la the price... :lol:

danny,

the reason is because i unlucky kua...hehehehe
both fuel pumps are pushing about 3.5bars of pressure only. 3 to 6 months later the fuel pressure drops. i think maybe the motor weak already. both also like that. aih. boring lah. rx-7 ones because one jammed one just felt he is old and retired. :lol:

but try first la...you not pushing those crazy pressures wat. ori evos with uprated boost only needs around 2.8-3 bars of pressure to keep all in check.

joseph,

seriously speaking, i should have bought that damn SX or warlbro fuel pump. saved all my headaches.
lekalo...

oi tamby, itu fuel pump ada murah ke? let me test one can ah? near ma bangsar to kepong...buang at my workshop first la...hehee...

And I should have just plonk in VR4. :P

Oh Well! Cantonese saying "if you had known it will happen, there will be no paupers in this world"

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Oct 28 2004, 20:28
lekalo...

oi tamby, itu fuel pump ada murah ke? let me test one can ah? near ma bangsar to kepong...buang at my workshop first la...hehee...
Wey gajah,
wat bangsar - kepong? Sum say you Honda la this la that la.. apalanciauuuu? Gua tara paham ma! Jumpa & collect la the pam lah. I hv 1 spare unit if u wanna try see if that works fine or not.
U want murah see what price u give lah. I ok wan...
But.. oh shyte, must look for that 1st... :ph34r:

yeah...there are some rumors that i am working for honda factory in simpang ampat...aih up to you all to believe lah.

you got one spare unit right? i try and check see can use or not la. today i went to a potong kereta in alor gajah looking for an external fuel pump. test test that time...the fuel pump become home shower, spraying petrol all over the place...mahai lucky i was not smoking...hahahaha

gajah :blink: :blink: :blink: :blink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .... oi miton apa jadi FBR ?? sleeping ka u .. no wonder they nominate you for president ... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

yala...work in alor gajah become gajah already la...
no la bz la fren...duit bukan senang mau cari ooo....those days i so-called cari makan in garang is over la...that fella...SiGh!!! <_<