Reliability of the Mazda 626 Cronos

Where's the workshop of this Revolution Perfomance you mentioned? I'm in Subang Jaya.

btw, i'm sure all the cylinders are firing. I'm thinking maybe 1 of them may have a fouled spark plug. Send the car to check tomorrow, so it will be nice to know where to go to. Somewhere I can find an honest, reasonably priced yet competent mechanic.

The Sunway workshops here think everyone who visits them are rich (and most of them probably are).

spanker said:
Where's the workshop of this Revolution Perfomance you mentioned? I'm in Subang Jaya.

btw, i'm sure all the cylinders are firing. I'm thinking maybe 1 of them may have a fouled spark plug. Send the car to check tomorrow, so it will be nice to know where to go to. Somewhere I can find an honest, reasonably priced yet competent mechanic.

The Sunway workshops here think everyone who visits them are rich (and most of them probably are).

ahahahah...kena once before. second hand parts almost same price as new parts....whatta bummer!

Ok. I am sure you know how to get on the NPE from SJ. Go straight to the first toll RM1.60 after which you go straight again until the elevated h/way ends in Old Klang Road. Keep left all the way.

As you come down th elevated road, you will a Shell on the opposite (look to your right), followed by a brown building called wisma Peters with Hyundai Signboard. this will be your landmark. you will also see a caltex.

Once you come down, sight your landmarks, keep left, go straight to the u-turn, make the u-turn and head towards wisma peters.

Turn left at wisma peters, go straight until u come to a mini roundabout. Take 3 o'clock.

Go straight , take the first turning on the right and immediately turn left. You will a shop with Revolution sign. would love to see you tomorrow but got engagement in the morning. I will be at the shop at around 4.30 - 5 though.

cheers!

That's a little too far for my liking, as I don't have someone to chauffer me after I drop off the car. My colleague recommended another Mazda mechanic at USJ near the Metrobus depot. I'll check that one out first, get that stupid knocking fixed.

Thanks for the info though. Maybe I'll drop by there if I want to upgrade to some performance parts.

Jason....have you done your conversion?....

If not....other than the FE3, try and see if you can fit a V6. Some one told me that some had this done in their Telstar GD. I am not sure where I heard this but I think it was during the time I met Lan D and the gang for TT in Kemuning.

CHeck it out....might be worth it... considering the GD and GE are built on the same chassis..

aiyo, brother, dun lar call my name so loud. not done yet. financial constrait. furhtermore, my car hardly move now.the old engine is still ok. tink fe3n is ok lar, dun wanna do some extreme conversion. expensive price to pay. btw, when u buy ur car ah?? i remember is 2002 and rm27k. can get loan ah.?? wat was the rate?? ur ford or mazda??

??..the dealer open price at 27. I paid 20. cash. why lar?? u wanna refinance ur car isit?

Mine's a Ford Telstar. I think the price range now depending on the year (88 - 96) is abt 10k to 25k. I think still can get loan for '91 and above models. why...wanna buy another one ah?

eh....btw...why ur car hardly move ?? what happen?

sudha said:
??..the dealer open price at 27. I paid 20. cash. why lar?? u wanna refinance ur car isit?

Mine's a Ford Telstar. I think the price range now depending on the year (88 - 96) is abt 10k to 25k. I think still can get loan for '91 and above models. why...wanna buy another one ah?

eh....btw...why ur car hardly move ?? what happen?

wow, 7k discount, tt's a lot. nowadays take bus cheaper mah, ahahahah

Got some update for you guys. I don't understand how can 1 mechanic have a different diagnosis from other mechanics for the same problem. Apparently, the groan/creaking is not coming from the steering column. It's from the suspension, where exactly is still a puzzle, my 'economic' mechanic says it's the bushing, a performance mechanic said it's a worn arm.

Knocking confirm coming from the 'tepet'. I don't know what that is, so someone enlighten me on this. I just know they're gonna have to take out the entire valve cover to replace it. Each of them tepet will cost around 70 or 80, maybe higher, x6 so that's around 1400-1600, workmanship 300-400. I'd figure might as well put up with it for a year or so and then go for an engine replacement.

Would like to know, is my 2L V6 a JDM KF-ZE engine? How much will it cost me for the replacement? (I need to start saving now) Thanks for all the help all of you have provided. I like the car but I hope it's worth it.

spanker said:
Got some update for you guys. I don't understand how can 1 mechanic have a different diagnosis from other mechanics for the same problem. Apparently, the groan/creaking is not coming from the steering column. It's from the suspension, where exactly is still a puzzle, my 'economic' mechanic says it's the bushing, a performance mechanic said it's a worn arm.

Knocking confirm coming from the 'tepet'. I don't know what that is, so someone enlighten me on this. I just know they're gonna have to take out the entire valve cover to replace it. Each of them tepet will cost around 70 or 80, maybe higher, x6 so that's around 1400-1600, workmanship 300-400. I'd figure might as well put up with it for a year or so and then go for an engine replacement.

Would like to know, is my 2L V6 a JDM KF-ZE engine? How much will it cost me for the replacement? (I need to start saving now) Thanks for all the help all of you have provided. I like the car but I hope it's worth it.

Diff opinion form diff mech is normal for various reasons. Tt’s why it’s always better to stick to ur regular mech. For a 10yrs old car, bushing shd be replace. I suspect is the drive shaft, bush n lower arm. Changing the tepet is like overhaul. I m not sure abt ur engine, maybe Lan D can help, but if I m not mistaken, KF-ZE is rare n half cut alone is ard rm5k to 6k. btw, if u only need a car, u can jz buy a kancil. Jz my opinion. Dun flame me, flame suit on, lawak buruk

yup, u can use KFZE, which is similar to JDM Lantis.

However, KFZE has a higher performance capacity, about 10-15hp difference. But its the same engine, just that JDM KFZE is more refined!

About the tappet, KFZE doesn;t operate from tappet. It uses shims. It cannot be adjusted. I am driving a Lantis with KFZE (just transplanted not long ago). My car do have the knocking sound, but only during cold starts (usually first start early in the morning). After about 15 min, the knocking sound will be gone, and the engine is gonna be very quiet.

The halfcut for KFZE (i.e. lantis front) is around 4k max. So, u can get a good halfcut, with low mileage for less than that. I bought mine less than 3k. Good stuffs.

KF engine is Mazda's best kept secret, in terms of NA engine. It can perform and has serious potential.

Cheers !

kfze said:
yup, u can use KFZE, which is similar to JDM Lantis.

However, KFZE has a higher performance capacity, about 10-15hp difference. But its the same engine, just that JDM KFZE is more refined!

About the tappet, KFZE doesn;t operate from tappet. It uses shims. It cannot be adjusted. I am driving a Lantis with KFZE (just transplanted not long ago). My car do have the knocking sound, but only during cold starts (usually first start early in the morning). After about 15 min, the knocking sound will be gone, and the engine is gonna be very quiet.

The halfcut for KFZE (i.e. lantis front) is around 4k max. So, u can get a good halfcut, with low mileage for less than that. I bought mine less than 3k. Good stuffs.

KF engine is Mazda's best kept secret, in terms of NA engine. It can perform and has serious potential.

Cheers !

wow, less than 3k is serious ok, as FE3N is alrdy 2.8k. but how abt the reliability and the availability of spareparts from chop shop. btw, where did u get ur half cut n do ur transplant?? Mind share ur best kept secret?ahahhahaha

spanker said:

Just an observation. That creaking from the steering...it could be anything, just like mine. "oo...ini stereng batang sudah losak ooo..mau kena tukat"...one of the diagnosis that I got. in the end..a screwdriver and a some grease together with 20mins of my time..took care of it. So it could be anything but something major.

Mazda/Ford started using hydraulic tappets for their engines since 1990 onwards. the disadvantage of these tappets is they cannot be adjusted, meaning once they start making noises...you'll have to change them.

However...tappets only make clicking sounds rather than knocks. So I find it rather odd.

Overall, I think a top overhaul is due for a car that has reached 10 years of age. I did a top overhaul on my previous 12 valve engine in 2003 and it cost me almost rm2k. I replaced all 12 tappets and black plastic looking things on my cams.

For your model, I would assume that you would probably have to spend something in the region of 3.5k considering that your tappets would cost somewhere near RM2k. and the rest including labour would probably add another 1- 1.5k.

So given the cost that you would be spending...it may be worthwhile to look for a similar engine.

But then again, see what KFZE has replied.

KFZE said:
However, KFZE has a higher performance capacity, about 10-15hp difference. But it’s the same engine, just that JDM KFZE is more refined!

About the tappet, KFZE doesn’t operate from tappet. It uses shims. It cannot be adjusted. I am driving a Lantis with KFZE (just transplanted not long ago). My car do have the knocking sound, but only during cold starts (usually first start early in the morning). After about 15 min, the knocking sound will be gone, and the engine is gonna be very quiet.

Cheers !

KF-ZE engines aren’t exactly new. They have been around since 1992. Available in Mazda Cronos/626/Ford Telstar 1992 - 1997 models. The engine was also carried in the Mazda Lantis series with slightly higher performance uprade.

Your car is currently running on a KF-ZE engine. So, if what he has said about you car engine not having tappets but shims is true…I would suggest you get in touch with KFZE. He might have a way or two or know a specialist that might be able to help.

If you are seriously looking to change your engine….I suggest you start shopping at either mun lee or kota kemuning area. Lots of Mazda half cuts.

Bro KF-ZE, don’t get me wrong, but you are right about the 10-15hp increase but a 626 could only churn 160hp compared to the lantis’ 170hp.

Difference is due to the fact that the 626 is a larger sedan compared to the compact size of Lantis. And yes…banyak potential.

Originally I wanted to put a KF-ZE into my Telstar…but chickened out because no resources. Did not come across anyone who did it.

Would have been good fun though....pissing those puffy perdana's. I still do with my FE3..haha haha hahah!!

Cheers maties!

wow, less than 3k is serious ok, as FE3N is alrdy 2.8k. but how abt the reliability and the availability of spareparts from chop shop. btw, where did u get ur half cut n do ur transplant?? Mind share ur best kept secret?ahahhahaha

Ghost....pricing almost similar. FE3 is becoming very rare by the minute. If you see one, i suggest to pay some money and book first. I booked mine so i dont have to wait a long time to find one.

Spare parts for KF-ZE easy to get. even the new ones.

Go to any spare part dealers and ask for mazda GE 24 valve or telstar GE 24 valve parts.

You can even use original parts like air filter, oil filter, water pump, starter, alternator, etc from KIA or NAZA. The Kia Carnival/ Naza Ria runs on Mazda KL-ZE (n/a) which is a 2.5 ltr V6 commonly found in the Telstar TX5/ mazda 626 GTs in Australia.

Getting parts is not a problem.

sudha said:
Ghost....pricing almost similar. FE3 is becoming very rare by the minute. If you see one, i suggest to pay some money and book first. I booked mine so i dont have to wait a long time to find one.

Spare parts for KF-ZE easy to get. even the new ones.

Go to any spare part dealers and ask for mazda GE 24 valve or telstar GE 24 valve parts.

You can even use original parts like air filter, oil filter, water pump, starter, alternator, etc from KIA or NAZA. The Kia Carnival/ Naza Ria runs on Mazda KL-ZE (n/a) which is a 2.5 ltr V6 commonly found in the Telstar TX5/ mazda 626 GTs in Australia.

Getting parts is not a problem.

getting parts r no prb, but how abt the price??
FE3 getting rarer, then get KF-ZE lar, no intention to change now as no resources. sudha, u found a job yet?

yo J!

In a job already. March 2006, i'm gonna get either a spanking new mazda 6 or a telstar V6 and dump in a KL-ZE...Muahahahahaha!

Yes. FE3 is getting rare by the minute. But you need to understand the simple fact that the FE3 was made available in the KIA Sportage 2.0 Dohc 95 - 2000 model.

So if you are talking about engine parts...heheheh..very much available considering the sportage has ahuge following in this country thanks to Naza Motors/ Naza Kia.

my timing belt, bearing, oil filter and all else came from the KIA parts dealer. So no problemo.

You could also use the timing belt for the Telstar/Cronos V6. Oil Filer can still take from your current model.

Always remember, FE3 is based on your current 12valve. Only diffrence, Twin Cam, 16 valve Fuel Injection.

Pricing, almost similar to what you are spending now. Got no budget?..do a top overhaul on your car. Throw away the standard carb and fix a weber.

Dun worry bro....budget can kumpul later. But My suggestion, FE3 manuals tx are hard to come by. If you spot one lying somewhere. Book the damn engine first. Tell the chop shop to give you some time to sort your budget. They will be agreeable.

I book my engine way back in August but i only send my car in December. Howzat?

Invisibleghost,

Pandai laa you!...huhuhuhuhu...I'm not a certified mech lee. just as hobby only and i only know a little lee....and only on the BPT series Mazda engine...simply becoz I'm driving one. Also a little bit on my wife's Lynx 1.8i (auto) BP series....pasang timing belt, turun my gearbox, bolehlah...tapi kereta orang, i dun dare wooo.....recently i sold of her AFC single button & installed the Blue Screen SAFC type 1,...more power realised, fuel consumption a little better since she's more on low-throttle.

Spanker,
The V6 timing belt+bearings+oilseal could cost u RM600 not inclusive of labour. That's what I heard from a fren that's working at a sparepart shop for more then 10 years at Setapak. Ask for quotation from him HARUN MAZDASPEED 012-6943306.
And I know someone who is quite well verse with V6 mazda series. He's playing with the KLZE 2.5 V6 in his Eunos, has one Cronos, one GD that's currently still stock std, one Xedos and i don't what else in his garrage. His name is Abang Omar 0123911711 Eunos MX3. He did mentioned that he wanted to fit in the V6 in his GD, a little mods need to be done to the mounting. but then again, Malaysia Boleh!Abang Omar is a manager at Texas Instrument.
Congratulations on having the V6...

Lan D

sudha said:
yo J!

In a job already. March 2006, i'm gonna get either a spanking new mazda 6 or a telstar V6 and dump in a KL-ZE...Muahahahahaha!

Yes. FE3 is getting rare by the minute. But you need to understand the simple fact that the FE3 was made available in the KIA Sportage 2.0 Dohc 95 - 2000 model.

So if you are talking about engine parts...heheheh..very much available considering the sportage has ahuge following in this country thanks to Naza Motors/ Naza Kia.

my timing belt, bearing, oil filter and all else came from the KIA parts dealer. So no problemo.

You could also use the timing belt for the Telstar/Cronos V6. Oil Filer can still take from your current model.

Always remember, FE3 is based on your current 12valve. Only diffrence, Twin Cam, 16 valve Fuel Injection.

Pricing, almost similar to what you are spending now. Got no budget?..do a top overhaul on your car. Throw away the standard carb and fix a weber.

Dun worry bro....budget can kumpul later. But My suggestion, FE3 manuals tx are hard to come by. If you spot one lying somewhere. Book the damn engine first. Tell the chop shop to give you some time to sort your budget. They will be agreeable.

I book my engine way back in August but i only send my car in December. Howzat?

so fast got a job ah?? wat job ? where?? any vacancy folr me?? btw, how u booK, mean did u pay any downpayment or jz call n book?? I m a little concen abt FC, so webber is out of question. u getting a new ride? cool. remember to drive me ard. as u mention, since fe3 is available in kia sportage, sportage halfcut will do, rt??

Lan Dugong said:
And I know someone who is quite well verse with V6 mazda series. He's playing with the KLZE 2.5 V6 in his Eunos, has one Cronos, one GD that's currently still stock std, one Xedos and i don't what else in his garrage. His name is Abang Omar 0123911711 Eunos MX3. He did mentioned that he wanted to fit in the V6 in his GD, a little mods need to be done to the mounting. but then again, Malaysia Boleh!Abang Omar is a manager at Texas Instrument.
Congratulations on having the V6...

Lan D

KL-ZE 2.5 V6!!! :eek: I gotta see this!!!!....gotta see it!!!!....gotta see it!!! :D

Lan..mana ini Abang Omar...bleh buat road trip gi jenguk garage dia??...I want to see howhe managed to fit a 2.5V6 in a Eunos....Eunos mana nie? Astina ke Lantis??

so fast got a job ah?? wat job ? where?? any vacancy folr me?? btw, how u booK, mean did u pay any downpayment or jz call n book?? I m a little concen abt FC, so webber is out of question. u getting a new ride? cool. remember to drive me ard. as u mention, since fe3 is available in kia sportage, sportage halfcut will do, rt??

Brader...before you jump to conclusions, read carefully the research materials that you have printed.

The KIA Sportage FE3 is configured for Rear Wheel Drive. It will not go in to your Mazda.

You need to find halcuts for Mazda 626 GD/Mazda Persona (eunos 300). Front wheel drive configurations.

I referred to the KIA merely for parts sourcing. Essential engine parts are the same.

I paid a deposit of RM1K considering that I ask Mun Lee to hold it for me for a long time. You can pay any amount ranging from RM300 to any amount that you want. You can even pay in full..heheheheh.

Dont worry. Plan your budget. and when you are ready..call me. We go engine shopping.

I need to find body parts too...bonnet and left fender.

My bonnet was stuck to my windscreen last week....so got dents malas nak simen la..