Just an observation. That creaking from the steering...it could be anything, just like mine. "oo...ini stereng batang sudah losak ooo..mau kena tukat"...one of the diagnosis that I got. in the end..a screwdriver and a some grease together with 20mins of my time..took care of it. So it could be anything but something major.
Mazda/Ford started using hydraulic tappets for their engines since 1990 onwards. the disadvantage of these tappets is they cannot be adjusted, meaning once they start making noises...you'll have to change them.
However...tappets only make clicking sounds rather than knocks. So I find it rather odd.
Overall, I think a top overhaul is due for a car that has reached 10 years of age. I did a top overhaul on my previous 12 valve engine in 2003 and it cost me almost rm2k. I replaced all 12 tappets and black plastic looking things on my cams.
For your model, I would assume that you would probably have to spend something in the region of 3.5k considering that your tappets would cost somewhere near RM2k. and the rest including labour would probably add another 1- 1.5k.
So given the cost that you would be spending...it may be worthwhile to look for a similar engine.
But then again, see what KFZE has replied.
KF-ZE engines aren’t exactly new. They have been around since 1992. Available in Mazda Cronos/626/Ford Telstar 1992 - 1997 models. The engine was also carried in the Mazda Lantis series with slightly higher performance uprade.
Your car is currently running on a KF-ZE engine. So, if what he has said about you car engine not having tappets but shims is true…I would suggest you get in touch with KFZE. He might have a way or two or know a specialist that might be able to help.
If you are seriously looking to change your engine….I suggest you start shopping at either mun lee or kota kemuning area. Lots of Mazda half cuts.
Bro KF-ZE, don’t get me wrong, but you are right about the 10-15hp increase but a 626 could only churn 160hp compared to the lantis’ 170hp.
Difference is due to the fact that the 626 is a larger sedan compared to the compact size of Lantis. And yes…banyak potential.
Originally I wanted to put a KF-ZE into my Telstar…but chickened out because no resources. Did not come across anyone who did it.
Would have been good fun though....pissing those puffy perdana's. I still do with my FE3..haha haha hahah!!
Cheers maties!