Reliability of the Mazda 626 Cronos

I've actually asked about the possibility of putting the V6 in my ford. I went to SOME workshop in serdang but the feller insisted that it was very hard. It seems he did one before and there was too much work involved. He added furhermore that most of the work was on the dash IN the car!! I don't know if he's talking out of his ass or anything but he SEEMED honest; doesn't ask for over the top prices.

If an overhaul is going to cost me that figure of money, there goes my plans. sigh... :( i've only got budget in the hundreds for the time being. would have to wait months to get anywhere near 2-3k.

If i did an exhaust mod instead, do you think the consumption would go down? I know that when i did it for my Iswara '00, the comsumption actually went down and power went up significantly. 5th gear 3000rpm was about 105kmh compared to 95+ before. that's nearly 10 percent. Do you think that the improvement would be as good on the telstar?

I've asked around about the mod and the best price i got for piping, 2 bullets and muffler was RM550 all in. if i change the manifold, it would be about RM150 more. All this is puchong price. think that is reasonable?

sudha said:
fade..

standard pricing for labour (basic plug and play work) is ard rm 1500. Some places could be cheaper. If there are some heavy modifications, especially on the mountings expect higher costs.

Halfcuts are in the region of rm2800 - rm4000k depending where you get it. My FE3 halfcut cost me RM2800 with rear disc.

kfze h/cuts should cost more probably ard rm3500. I am just guessing here.

Someone in this thread is taking part on a major mod. He's helping someone put in a kfze in a GC. GC is the body for the 626/ Telstar model before your car.

This is something i got to see for myself. Intricate job but with a lot of patience and perseverance...nothing is impossible.

Considering that the GE (v6) and the GDs are sharing the same chassis...there is a possibility that the V6 will fit w/out heavy mods. But this is yet to be seen.

Very honest mechanic u have there. heheheheh.

Well...he is right abt that. What you probably need to to is install the Dash from the V6 halfcut. There will be alot of work there especially with some mods here and there.

If the dash can go in, there should not be any problems with the wiring. I've got some diagrams of the dash for the v6 and the GD versions. Let me do some research...heheheh

if can, I want to buy another car and put a kfze in it!....Muahahahahahha!!

Exhaust mods? Honestly I dun know anything about exhaust mods coz i never bothered abt them.

wanna meet this weekend?

Well... having said that, the prices in serdang are usually much cheaper anyway...

Bout the KFZE, he said something along that lines, as well. Putting the dash in and all that is far too complicated and he doesn't want to go through the hassle of doing it again.

I read from the really old posts that you stay in puchong? Where abouts? I stay at BK 3 at the moment. Unfortunately, this weekend i busy like mad. sat working and sun going to PD! :D
Maybe sometime in the weekdays? That's when i'm most free. Or maybe next weekend lar...

sudha said:
Very honest mechanic u have there. heheheheh.

Well...he is right abt that. What you probably need to to is install the Dash from the V6 halfcut. There will be alot of work there especially with some mods here and there.

If the dash can go in, there should not be any problems with the wiring. I've got some diagrams of the dash for the v6 and the GD versions. Let me do some research...heheheh

if can, I want to buy another car and put a kfze in it!....Muahahahahahha!!

Exhaust mods? Honestly I dun know anything about exhaust mods coz i never bothered abt them.

wanna meet this weekend?

hey.....me in tmn puncak kinrara. I think its on the opposite site of BK3.

Whenever you're free.

Ok....I have seen people do wonders with the dashboard in a telstar. so far, I have seen one with a GD dashboard. Then i saw one with a mazda persona dash...now this is the dash that i threw away because i thought it could not fit. hahahaha....someone proved me wrong.

Basically, if we could find out all the mounting points, i believe it is workable. And I know someone is in progress of a V6 conversion at the moment.

dude...weekdays depends. but give me a buzz. my number is 0123353330.

Long time no update liao. This 626 is proving to be a little more troublesome than i thought. Starting to have doubts, even though I really like the ride.

Idling problem still exists. Brought it to a mechanic my colleague recommended in USJ 3 who drives a 323 B6. He says it's the ECU, repairs cost RM230. Now car doesn't die but idle still fluctuates every now and then. Ah Boon (the mechanic) says old wirings and ECU, if really wanna fix it need a lot of work.

Groaning from steering column turns out to be the front absorbers, replaced it with used parts (RM130x2). Now it only groans on hard cornering. hahah. :(

Today I will have to bring the car in to a mechanic because A/C not working. Gas all leaked out (god knows from where), compressor won't come on. It was fine when I got the car. So have to bring it to a shop in Sunway (i work there) to fix.

I suspect oil pan seal leaky. 1 drop on the ground around every 1/2 hour.

i think differential may have some problems as well. Acceleration above 120 kph will occasionally cause the car to pull to either the left or right.

Confirm timing belt + bearings etc cost about RM600 (checked with 2 mechanics). Not inclusive of labor. Probably have to replace all other belts as well if i'm at it.

Well.... looks like the engine transplant will have to wait a long while more, since there's problem with other parts of the car.

bro....

idling problems - can u describe it?

If you have ons of probs at the moment suggest u change the engine because you will be saving a lot money. Dont be like me...I spruced up my old engine just to chuck it to besi buruk..

idling problems is sometimes the rpm rises and drops around 50-100 rpm rapidly, like a few times/second. Happens every now and then, but goes away if I power on a few more things like headlamps, A/C, wipers, etc.

at the moment, i just want the car to run well and not break down on me. As long as I fix all the nitty gritty stuff, and I have mullah, I'm swapping the engine. BUt what I really crave is ride comfort and reliability. Like I'd like to go up Camerons and not worry about blowing a gasket kinda thing.

btw, I'm a n00b with engines. Can someone tell me about all this engine classifications you guys have? Like the B6/B8/KF etc etc? I'm happy with a link too. It'd be nice to have some info on the chassis classifications as well.

ok...let me get this straight.

lets say your car idles ard 900rpm standard.

You say;

1) your rpm fluctuates between 800 - 900 >> drops to 800 then goes back up to 900
2) goes normal back to 900rpm when the headlights, a/c and what nots are switched on?
if this is the case then I say:

Your ISC valve and electrical load solenoid is working in perfect order as the RPM is stabilised when the car is under load from the A/c and electrical components.

My guess is:

1) Your throttle body needs cleaning

2) Dirty or clogged fuel injectors

It can be solved by:

1) a can of carb/throttle body cleaner - But I strongly suggest your find a proper
mech to do this.

2) Some fuel injector cleaners or fuel treatment available at all sparepart shops -
I would reccomend Bardahl/CRC.

If not...go pump Shell V-Power full tank and rev it on the h/way.

I do hope this helps. I just remembered that I may have a engine manual that covers the kfze. let me find the cd ..i know its somewhere in the house.

B6 - 1.6 B Series Dohc Turbo /NA
B8 - 1.8 B Series Dohc Turbo/NA
K - V6 enginees [k8ze=1.8v6] [kfze=2.0V6] [klze=2.5v6]

Check out the following link for more info.

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/mazda/cronos/

spanker said:
idling problems is sometimes the rpm rises and drops around 50-100 rpm rapidly, like a few times/second. Happens every now and then, but goes away if I power on a few more things like headlamps, A/C, wipers, etc.

at the moment, i just want the car to run well and not break down on me. As long as I fix all the nitty gritty stuff, and I have mullah, I'm swapping the engine. BUt what I really crave is ride comfort and reliability. Like I'd like to go up Camerons and not worry about blowing a gasket kinda thing.

btw, I'm a n00b with engines. Can someone tell me about all this engine classifications you guys have? Like the B6/B8/KF etc etc? I'm happy with a link too. It'd be nice to have some info on the chassis classifications as well.

Three?? mana ada 3? 2 only for the moment.

1) Throttle Body

Esentially you can but it would be better if you send it to a specialist because the TB is a sentitive thing. If not handled properly it will scew up ur idling even worse.

2) Get the injector cleaner. its in liquid form and you need to pour the entire contents into your petrol tank. Pump petrol to ensure proper mixing and you're ready to go. u may need to repeat two or three timesjust in case.

(Make sure u pour the injector cleaner before u pump petrol)

I think the V-power is more premium petrol. its got some additional additives and cleaning properties.

tell u what...meeting up with mr fade to night venue not confirmed. u wanna join?

if you have msgr look me up -->

cokeaddict --> Msn messenger

cokeaddic ---> Yahoo.

cheers!

Very sorry about that night, Sudha... was stuck in PJ taking care of my sister. But will make it up to you. next round of yumcha on me? :D

spanker....dont do the TB cleaning yet....doing some research. it appears for the v6 models, it is better to do the cleaning via the purge control links.

i'll update on this soon.

cheers!

sup sudha,

just bought myself a nice bottle of STP fuel injector cleaner from Carrefour. Gonna fill 'er in this weekend before I go down to Port Klang for a nice steamy pot of Bak Kut Teh.

I ain't touching the throttle body because i don't even know where that is. Thanks for the tip!

Let me know if you guys wanna go out yum cha and look at my car. :)

spanker....free tonite? whats yer number? mine's 0123353330. i wanna see if i can find that purge control thingy...

Guys,
I would like to join the yum cha too. Lets share some info. I have not sit in a 626 before, so i would like to hitch a ride from spanker.

Manual for KF ? Sudha, did u manage to find the CD ?

lets keep in touch. My number 012-2916583

alright.... now we've got Telstar/626 yum char gang! :D hahaha...
anyway, hop on over to http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=38925&page=2&pp=15 if you're not already there...

kfze said:
Guys,
I would like to join the yum cha too. Lets share some info. I have not sit in a 626 before, so i would like to hitch a ride from spanker.

Manual for KF ? Sudha, did u manage to find the CD ?

lets keep in touch. My number 012-2916583
hahah, my car nothing special apart from a whole lot of noise coming from it. Anywho.... you guys find a time and place to yum cha, I will do by best to make it because my schedule is kinda flaky so don't wait for me. kfze let me know if you want a ride :)

btw, i just added the STP injector cleaner, idling still happens, but less often now and in smaller magnitudes.

spanker..

Top up twice again.

I am saying this because your first stage would probably loosen the gunk because it could have been there for ages.

Second time you top up, drive the car at high revs whenever you can. This will help clear all the carbon gunk and gum deposits that would have been building up since the last few years.

And then repeat it for one final time...this time can drive relax la.

The benefit of these type of cleaners is that it helps keep not only you injectors but your intake manifolds and valves.

Thats why I am suggesting that you continue another two times before you could see the results. once you have completed thise treatment, your drive should be smoother. Your erratic idling should not be there anymore.

After this, you could continue this treatment on a six month or yearly basis.

cheers.
Sudha

p/s pm me ur number la....jgn kedekut