Reliability of the Mazda 626 Cronos

Sudha,
I also would like to see and feel his engine.

I know in KL, got 2 MX3 with KLZE V6.

Call me along when u guys go TT. Not a bad idea. All V6 kaki.

Anyone buy this idea ?

kfze said:
Sudha,

Anyone buy this idea ?

only V6 kah, inline 4 can join ah?? kfze, i suggest u join Killerbees' gathering at Big Cloud on sat nite. lots of mazda/ford. maybe u can see 13b in a 121, ahahahahha

Hari ini ke gathering Killerbees ? Awan Besar Rest Area right ? What time ?

See I got any member there or not ..............

How about the forumners in this thread to meet up ? Inline 4 pun invited jugak. No problems !!!

Sudha,

Anyone buy this idea ?

Can can can.....i have been wanting to see the KLZE for a long time. Never knew in Malaysia got until KIA Carnival came...cheh..

Now i get to see the engine in its true Mazda form!!

Its been known to kick out 200++hp in NA form in a TX5. Wonder what it can do in a Eunos which has got a lower weight to power ratio...

Must arrange with cikgu LAn lan nie.

Lan...amacam...boleh tolong kite jumpa Superstar KLZE ?

kfze said:
Hari ini ke gathering Killerbees ? Awan Besar Rest Area right ? What time ?

See I got any member there or not ..............

How about the forumners in this thread to meet up ? Inline 4 pun invited jugak. No problems !!!

they will be there after 10pm. for more info check out the website. some of the forumners in this thread meet up too for TT like laserman, but not many lar.

wowzers!!!...RM300 for service kit?.....macha why so expensive? who quote you ? i know i can get cheaper.

Sudha,

If u wanna meet abang omar, pls call him straight. Since he's one of the bosses there, he might be busy. but he's a frenly man. He's driving the original Eunos. Another thing, he has just recovered from Leukimia and currently undergoing treatments.

Guys,
Regarding the power steering rack, some mechanics advise to get a used chop shop as they don't dare to gamble to change the seals inside it. It tends to leak back. I changed mine 3 years back, bought it for RM140 at chop shop. side benefits, i got 2 spares of tie-rod end & 2 spares of rack end that comes with the steering rack.
But a good mechanic will do a good job in changing the seals, just dunno how long would it last.

Lan D

Lan,

Thanks for the advise. might look for a used one then.

Could you PM be Abang Omar's no? Thanks!

Sudha

Sudha, aru u sure Naza Kia use KLZE? I thought it is Rover K V6.

sudha said:
Ghost....pricing almost similar. FE3 is becoming very rare by the minute. If you see one, i suggest to pay some money and book first. I booked mine so i dont have to wait a long time to find one.

Spare parts for KF-ZE easy to get. even the new ones.

Go to any spare part dealers and ask for mazda GE 24 valve or telstar GE 24 valve parts.

You can even use original parts like air filter, oil filter, water pump, starter, alternator, etc from KIA or NAZA. The Kia Carnival/ Naza Ria runs on Mazda KL-ZE (n/a) which is a 2.5 ltr V6 commonly found in the Telstar TX5/ mazda 626 GTs in Australia.

Getting parts is not a problem.

mx3...suggest you peek into the engine bay of a telstar/cronos/626 v6 and then have a peek at the engine bay of a Kia Carnival/Naza Ria.

Let me know what you see.

Kia has been known to use mazda engines in its wide range of models. The Spectra, Sportage and Carnival all run on Mazda Engines.

I never peek into Kia Ria engine bay, and I definitely will! If this is true, I better stock up KLZE cause the local demand can go up! I am aware Kia uses Mazda designed engine (B6, FE3 based), but they manufacture their own, so reliability is an issue.

I have taken a peek under Kia Carnival hood today, and it is definitely not Mazda KLZE. It look very much like Rover 75 2.5 v6. Probably what you seen is a modded Kia. I heard Kia Carnival engine has many reported blown head gasket, and got some owner convert it to 6A12 TT.

Rgds,
omar

hmm....this is interesting. very interesting, considering the fact that Kia based their Carnival on a Mazda MPV platform.

I happened to look under the hood of a Naza Ria which is a Carnival in local guise and what I saw was similar to a klze.

very interesting coz thats twice i've seen it.

Hi guys. Mau hijack this thread for a while. Which mechanic is the one specialised in Mazda cars in USJ 14 that was mentioned earlier? Are they reliable? I need to service my car.

WOW!!! RM2k+ for overhaul?! ouchies.... *starting to feel sad now*

Anyway, how much would a conversion to the KFZE cost?

sudha said:

Just an observation. That creaking from the steering...it could be anything, just like mine. "oo...ini stereng batang sudah losak ooo..mau kena tukat"...one of the diagnosis that I got. in the end..a screwdriver and a some grease together with 20mins of my time..took care of it. So it could be anything but something major.

Mazda/Ford started using hydraulic tappets for their engines since 1990 onwards. the disadvantage of these tappets is they cannot be adjusted, meaning once they start making noises...you'll have to change them.

However...tappets only make clicking sounds rather than knocks. So I find it rather odd.

Overall, I think a top overhaul is due for a car that has reached 10 years of age. I did a top overhaul on my previous 12 valve engine in 2003 and it cost me almost rm2k. I replaced all 12 tappets and black plastic looking things on my cams.

For your model, I would assume that you would probably have to spend something in the region of 3.5k considering that your tappets would cost somewhere near RM2k. and the rest including labour would probably add another 1- 1.5k.

So given the cost that you would be spending...it may be worthwhile to look for a similar engine.

But then again, see what KFZE has replied.

KF-ZE engines aren’t exactly new. They have been around since 1992. Available in Mazda Cronos/626/Ford Telstar 1992 - 1997 models. The engine was also carried in the Mazda Lantis series with slightly higher performance uprade.

Your car is currently running on a KF-ZE engine. So, if what he has said about you car engine not having tappets but shims is true…I would suggest you get in touch with KFZE. He might have a way or two or know a specialist that might be able to help.

If you are seriously looking to change your engine….I suggest you start shopping at either mun lee or kota kemuning area. Lots of Mazda half cuts.

Bro KF-ZE, don’t get me wrong, but you are right about the 10-15hp increase but a 626 could only churn 160hp compared to the lantis’ 170hp.

Difference is due to the fact that the 626 is a larger sedan compared to the compact size of Lantis. And yes…banyak potential.

Originally I wanted to put a KF-ZE into my Telstar…but chickened out because no resources. Did not come across anyone who did it.

Would have been good fun though....pissing those puffy perdana's. I still do with my FE3..haha haha hahah!!

Cheers maties!

fade..

standard pricing for labour (basic plug and play work) is ard rm 1500. Some places could be cheaper. If there are some heavy modifications, especially on the mountings expect higher costs.

Halfcuts are in the region of rm2800 - rm4000k depending where you get it. My FE3 halfcut cost me RM2800 with rear disc.

kfze h/cuts should cost more probably ard rm3500. I am just guessing here.

Someone in this thread is taking part on a major mod. He's helping someone put in a kfze in a GC. GC is the body for the 626/ Telstar model before your car.

This is something i got to see for myself. Intricate job but with a lot of patience and perseverance...nothing is impossible.

Considering that the GE (v6) and the GDs are sharing the same chassis...there is a possibility that the V6 will fit w/out heavy mods. But this is yet to be seen.