Okay my turn....oh boy... it's one of those topics about philosophy again. And I know many people out there would not like my replies as because they are pretty long. But I enjoy writing. So here goes...
Do you know that Julia Roberts is Size 5 or 6? Most asian girls being smaller stature with an average size of 3 or four? But Marilyn Monroe is size 13 yet declared as the most sexy, beautiful woman of her time and till today still being looked at as a benchmark. Funny don't you say? Most people in the Renaissance period as you can see in art are FAT. But at that time, fat is beautiful. Skinny/slim is not. Nowadays, slim and skinny is in and so beauty is considered good in the eyes of men and women as slim and not fat. Marilyn Monroe is size 13, therefore, if you judge according to Julia Robert's size, it is twice the size. Julia Roberts to many may seem to be "Okay lah" but to the people that era is too skinny, no flesh to hold. Nowadays, it's just slim is in and that's all. In the mid-80s the men were considered to be a "hunk" if that guy is a body builder with lots of muscles that looks like loaves of bread on body(just a joke guys, no offence to the actual body builders out there). Anyway, nowadays, it is still "in" if you are a body builder but not entirely a "babe magnet". A real babe magnet is not like a body with big muscles (though some girls do turned on by this) but not majority right? So beauty in the eyes of girls also changes. In china, a long time ago, the beauty of a girl depends on how small the feet were, and so they tie their feet in order to stunt their feet's growth and a horrible process. In some places huge earlobes is considered an attractive point, so they would actually pierce their earlobes to enlarge it. So it all depends on how beauty is seen in a society. The bottom line is that beauty is defined if it is "in" and now being health conscious is also "the in thing" in our society, I guess slim as beauty is "in" in Malaysia.
Does that answer your question or are there any other comments?
Do you know that Julia Roberts is Size 5 or 6? Most asian girls being smaller stature with an average size of 3 or four? But Marilyn Monroe is size 13 yet declared as the most sexy, beautiful woman of her time and till today still being looked at as a benchmark. Funny don't you say? Most people in the Renaissance period as you can see in art are FAT. But at that time, fat is beautiful. Skinny/slim is not. Nowadays, slim and skinny is in and so beauty is considered good in the eyes of men and women as slim and not fat. Marilyn Monroe is size 13, therefore, if you judge according to Julia Robert's size, it is twice the size. Julia Roberts to many may seem to be "Okay lah" but to the people that era is too skinny, no flesh to hold. Nowadays, it's just slim is in and that's all. In the mid-80s the men were considered to be a "hunk" if that guy is a body builder with lots of muscles that looks like loaves of bread on body(just a joke guys, no offence to the actual body builders out there). Anyway, nowadays, it is still "in" if you are a body builder but not entirely a "babe magnet". A real babe magnet is not like a body with big muscles (though some girls do turned on by this) but not majority right? So beauty in the eyes of girls also changes. In china, a long time ago, the beauty of a girl depends on how small the feet were, and so they tie their feet in order to stunt their feet's growth and a horrible process. In some places huge earlobes is considered an attractive point, so they would actually pierce their earlobes to enlarge it. So it all depends on how beauty is seen in a society. The bottom line is that beauty is defined if it is "in" and now being health conscious is also "the in thing" in our society, I guess slim as beauty is "in" in Malaysia.
Does that answer your question or are there any other comments?