Modding A 4g93 N/A Engine...Give ur comments pls ppl

if really wan to compare in 2.0L lets face it, K20A vs SR20DE vs MIVEC..............

Winner - K20A
2nd runnerup - SR20DE
3rd runnerup - MIVEC

its true, my frens 1 got integra type r dc5, another 1 is SR20DET n SR20DE, and lastly Lancer MIVIEC wit turbo(NOT EVO).

They tried out whose pick up will be faster,
DC5 vs Silvia S14 without turbo
winner - DC5

DC5 vs Silvia S15 wit turbo
winner - Silvia S15 (just barely make it, since DC5 chase it from behind very nearly)

dc5 VS Lancer wit/out turbo
winner - DC5

DC5 vs Lancer wit turbo
winner - DC5

well, after this race we can conclude that Honda really put much effort on to this engine, don say K20A, even B16A also can push the power over 170hp, now thats wat i called THE REAL POWER!

yswong67 said:
if really wan to compare in 2.0L lets face it, K20A vs SR20DE vs MIVEC..............

Winner - K20A
2nd runnerup - SR20DE
3rd runnerup - MIVEC

its true, my frens 1 got integra type r dc5, another 1 is SR20DET n SR20DE, and lastly Lancer MIVIEC wit turbo(NOT EVO).

winner - DC5

winner - Silvia S15 (just barely make it, since DC5 chase it from behind very nearly)

winner - DC5

DC5 vs Lancer wit turbo
winner - DC5

well, after this race we can conclude that Honda really put much effort on to this engine, don say K20A, even B16A also can push the power over 170hp, now thats wat i called THE REAL POWER!

yada yada yada bla bla bla....YAWNNNZZZZZ.....telling us vtec is faster than other NA's is similiar to telling people that YOUR MOM IS A FEMALE.....why not u tell us something tat we don't know.....but then again, this is a never ending topic for debate.....nissan will bring in their ultimate SR Neo-VVL into debate, toyota will bring their 'Takumi' spec 11k rpm engine into debate (its just an example).....so, where will it end...???....NEVER.....just stop comparing lah plz.....n btw u r goin out of topic n the thread starter would definitely want something more informative than this.....cheerzzzz

hehehe,,,comparing vtec vs toyota vs waja vs mitsubishi is like kiddish talk:regular_smile: . I'ts like "my car is faster than yours topic" or "vtec vs turbo who will win". Normally this type of question was brought by secondary student only:angel_smile: . Dont be mad ahhhh,,,,hehehe.

satria81 said:
Guy's,i need more solutions/ideas....thnx

Our friend is asking for advice on how to make his car fast and here we have people who is telling us which engine is powerful??????????

Winner - K20A
2nd runnerup - SR20DE
3rd runnerup - MIVEC

winner - DC5

DC5 vs Lancer wit turbo
winner - DC5

Wah fliend you are vely good oooooooo.......
You are tester flom which organasation/association ahh?????

In the first place you did not drove this cars and your so called friends drove it!
What the big fuss/prove.
Please send this statement of yours to the respective companies and you'll know what would the outcome be.

Stick to the thread or start your own thread on your so called statement and I am very sure you'll have some friends there........

We are talking about Mitsubishi engine and in particular we are discussing about 4G93 engine to refresh everyone's memory.

And I am very sure also our friend wants to upgrade in a normal layman's method and not up to spending tonnes of MONEY RM2+++++.

No offence to anyone.

I c that I had made an big kidding useless tread to u all! :baring_teeth:

Well, well....somehow there r still many new members to c this forums, i jus try to make it clear, anyway I wil stop my tread!

About 4G93,this engine from my exp if don want coast much, from air filter, cpu, those basic item to upgrade it. After that, try to concentrate the car body for the stability!

After all, power up engine doesnt mean is the powerful 1!

R.I.P

You are referring to the diameter or thickness?

If you are referring to diameter then as far as I know the best we've tested is 43mm or best known as 2" pipe.Normal 2" is what everyone would say but actually it is 1 3/4" or 43mm to be exact.
Why you need this pipe is to maintain your back pressure from low to mid and high.Some people would prefer 2 1/2 in or 57.15mm.Th down fall of this pipe is initial torque would be good/high but towrds the end the power would actually drop cause of very low back pressure.

Correct me if I am wromg.

Engine_Maniac,

so can i opt for the 2 inches thick exhaust pipe(as in the inner part diameter) ....n the outside would be 2.2inches for the best result as i would love to feel the back pressure ?thnx yea

satria81 said:
Engine_Maniac,

so can i opt for the 2 inches thick exhaust pipe(as in the inner part diameter) ....n the outside would be 2.2inches for the best result as i would love to feel the back pressure ?thnx yea

Actually as far as I know we can't get the exact 2 inches internal diameter!Normally the measurement would be outer.Do not waste your time looking for inner 2 inches as this might even cause you a fortune!Just get a outer 2 inches and put in a good silencer and you see the effect.The pipe I think without the silencer would cause you about RM200 stainless steel pipe.

have done the piping from front to back with center bullet...2 inches diameter(roughly)..n ok no trouble or regrates..

anyone here would wanna share any other recipies ?...feel free by all means..thnx

heheh 4 exhaust part i'm using back stock piping....
power is still there......
skimmed flywheel or aftermarket flywheel?
i've tested skimmed is nice later on i will test an aftermarket flywheel soon ok will update u bout it...

from my observation n research i found that just maintain stock internal wit good/gr8 bearings is sufficient enough....
good PnP which is just polishing it no need to port it gila2......
regular tuning.....regular maintainance n ur done.....

Just thought i would drop my newbie 2 cents in.

Mivec works differently from V-tec.
Mivec has 2 lobes on and off whereas V-tec has a patented 3 lobe, the center lobe being the agressive lobe.

As far as which one is better?

EG6 vs Mirage Cyborg ZR same level competition for arguemen sake.

The EG6 won on track times and drag times. Even though the the Mirage weighed slightly less than the EG6 and had 5 more horsepower at 175.

The tale of the tape was that Honda built a car on double wishbones as opposed to, what is arguably an inferior, mcpherson struts. Not only that, Honda also made the effort to setup the gear ratios for their engines so that they can get optimum low end acceleration right through to the top.

Mitsubishi, didn't. Unfortunate circumstance but seeing how Mitsu has always been turbo ready (Other than the fact that Mitsu also produces their own turboes), as seen in the Evolutions and other engines like the VR4 and the GTO V6TT. Honda built performance out of technology and sold it that way. Mitsu was back tracking in a sense, they could already make their car go faster by selling turbo engines but produced Mivec to show that they can do the whole tech thing.

Honda built V-tec as an alternative (Cheap alternative mind you) to producing cars with turboes which would incur more cost in developing engines with turbo applications. Which is why Honda took the extra effort to develop everything else around their engines to near perfection.

Mitsu never had to rely on Mivec to take them into the performance era. They produce turboes which are used even by Subaru. They are more commonly known as IHI turbo (Mitsu subsidiary company).

Ah all this and my conclusion is.... Mivec is just as every bit as good as V-tec there are hardly any differences, it is just what you do to even out the differences. The only reason why V-tec took off was because of V-tec emergence in every vehicle with special performance application or just plain fuel saving methodology. Honda made V-tec into a real science. Mivec, at the time of losing out to the ever popular EG6, was already falling behind. Mitsu choose to keep running their super popular turbo applied Evo's rather than go into an area of automotive industry already largely dominated by Honda - Pocket rocket, bang for your buck, fuel saving rice rockets. Ta da! A full analysis, which mind you may be wrong in some respect but then again my 2 cents. :P

Right back on to more topic related items....

I drive a SGTI with 4G93... d'uh. 128whp last time i dyno'ed. With my custom full 2 to 2.2 inch piping and a 2.5 exhaust, header/extractor, de-catted, ngk iridiums, high performance plug wires and, drop-in k&n filter i am looking at around 133whp if not a very lofty 135whp. All this for about Rm1500 give or take a couple 1 to 2 hundred.

I am looking to add Mivec pistons but based on what i have been reading maybe not :P. Otherwise i have my inlet manifold and thinner metal gasket ready to be fitted into my engine this weekend. Looking to add a larger throttle body as well as balance my engine as its at 110,000 kms already ;). Then maybe getting some mild cams if not a chip :P.

deacon,

i had it on mind to drop in mivec pistons as well,i would really appreciate if u could share more on what's stoppin u to do so...and also the benefits of balancing the engine at 110,000 kms...otherwise,did learn quiet a bit from ur reply as above..thnx

Apparently the mivec pistons raise compression by 1 point alone i think. That would make the 4G93P 11:5:1 (Please correct if wrong) that's pretty high especially since i am adding a thinner metal gasket very soon. Not sure whether it will be unsafe later on.

Contrary to popular belief (At least to me) i wouldn't drop 1.6 normal pistons (4G92P not 4G92 mivec, yeah) into your engine to raise compression. I think that they are inferior and have seen them on the dyno in a relatively stock SGTI. It didn't do squat for performance.

Dropping higher compression pistons would be like dropping mivec pistons because of construction (made a certain way). They are slightly concave if i am not mistaken that some how adds to the performance and increasing compression ratio, which of course raises horsepower (Don't ask how i can't explain lol). Plus i am not too sure but i think while they raise horsepower they don't do shit for torque.

But basically i am just afraid of such a high strung engine that maybe wasn't made to be high strung. Unless i dropped Mivec heads then and only then would i use the mivec pistons and maybe use a thicker metal gasket just in case, hehe. Have to be a bit careful i only have one engine. :(

As far as engine balancing goes, well, i figure if your engine is new it would probably be pretty well balanced from factory. After a hundred thousand kms i personally feel that balancing my engine would bring forth more zippiness in the rev band. Slightly faster revving. I am not sure but my bosses foreman was offering to lighten my flywheel as well as balancing the engine. He said it was part and parcel, heh. The only problem is that going up hill might be slightly difficult, don't ask how i can't explain that yet either, heh.

erm about the going uphill part when u ligthen to much ur flywheel n skimmed everything internal ie ur piston, con rod, crank then u will lost power goin uphill......
this was a quote from a towkey balancing shop.....
i myself r using a skimmed flywheel not that much skimmed n lighten n still got power goin uphill...

raising CR without using more aggressive cams will not net u good power. Remember, its always working from the cams - how aggressive do you want it, then move on to the CR. Putting in 1.6 pistons will increase the CR. Also note that high CR will mean powerband is more to the top end - you will no doubt lose low-end torque and power. for a 1.8,high revving on stock internals is not advisable.

Skimming flywheel will mean reduced weight and reduced inertial drag hence will be able to spin ur engine faster which is translated into faster rev movements - not necessarily more power (more likely the illusion of power). Better acceleration with loss of top end as the lightened flywheel will lose steam in keeping the engine running due to its lighter weight (less inertia). Your choice.

i still remain true to my belief that 1.6 pistons don't anything especially from a stock 4G92P but then again if anyone has real practical application and works by adding more power by all means please share!

As i mentioned earlier, simply raising the CR on a stock engine will not net noticeable power gains without acompanying mods to the intake, cams, headers, exhaust.

Just out of curiousity would custom cam pullies be lighter and as responsive as aropseed ones for example?

Enslaved said:
raising CR without using more aggressive cams will not net u good power. Remember, its always working from the cams - how aggressive do you want it, then move on to the CR. Putting in 1.6 pistons will increase the CR. Also note that high CR will mean powerband is more to the top end - you will no doubt lose low-end torque and power. for a 1.8,high revving on stock internals is not advisable.

Skimming flywheel will mean reduced weight and reduced inertial drag hence will be able to spin ur engine faster which is translated into faster rev movements - not necessarily more power (more likely the illusion of power). Better acceleration with loss of top end as the lightened flywheel will lose steam in keeping the engine running due to its lighter weight (less inertia). Your choice.

nice xplaination man thanx...:regular_smile:
this was a quote from a mechanic "raising ur CR u need to do ur cams so that valve can open bigger due to hi compression..."
this xplained nicely by Enslaved..