Modding A 4g93 N/A Engine...Give ur comments pls ppl

Raising CR will give you a power gain provided you don't encounter pre-detonation. And the power is at all most rev ranges not at the top end only. Popular theory states 4% power increase for every 1 point of compression increase. Raising CR and the power effect is not dependent on the cams. In fact it is the other way around. Big cams require higher CR else you will lose power.

llsaw said:
Raising CR will give you a power gain provided you don't encounter pre-detonation. And the power is at all most rev ranges not at the top end only. Popular theory states 4% power increase for every 1 point of compression increase. Raising CR and the power effect is not dependent on the cams. In fact it is the other way around. Big cams require higher CR else you will lose power.

Agreed with you,,,,we speak from experience, not from "book" or frens theory:regular_smile:. LLsaw you definetely know how things goes, bcoz you already do this and done that. That's why when i heard such claims,,,,,,compression must be matched with big cams to get power,,,i smile my face off:regular_smile: . Anyway well said fren,,.

Firstly,THANKS to all of u who shared valueble info that is so good to me n other readers.Btw,Im still confused on what shud i do.There seems to be many types of mods...but what are the few which wud make a diff to my engine...as in to gain quicker response,im looking at a sum of a thousand fivehundred ringgit +/- as of now(i know its not much,but for know thats only what i can afford)...pls help thnx!

Do your basic. Intake, header and exhaust. The rest of the money pile into small mods like crank pulley and adjustable cam pullies. That or you could tambah a bit more and get some R3 stage 2 cams. But of course you need adjustable cam pullies first :P

deacon,

thanks for the above,i was talking to a fren while drinking at mamak like 25 mins ago...he was suggesting like what u said,which is to get the header,intake and exhaust done up first.But he was telling/suggesting me to use gsr t header n intake manifold with a combination of an evo throtle body.What do u think bout this?Will it be a wise or foolish idea to invest on or?..

Hmm not too sure bout getting a 4g93t header i think you might be better off with the mivec header or a hot bits or something similar to that.

If you need a place to pick up some of this stuff let me know i can hook you up (With regards to extractor not mivec extractor).

Intake manifold, well, maybe not a good idea.

So far i have received a lot of comments regarding throttle bodies both good and bad. My foreman says it will help a lot, he was trying to sell me a evo 1 ported throttle body, hehe.

Here is what i would do:

1. Buy a drop in filter or develop a whole open pod filter track plus piping.
2. Buy a extractor.
3. Buy a full exhaust (Sure you can pick up one from the marketplace section they have good deals), whether with bends or not is up to you, i went with fully bent (Referring to piping).
4. All that might run you about RM1000.
5. Spark plugs (Iridium no less) and performance wires.

After that it gets pretty expensive. RM500 for an engine balance with lightened flywheel. RM400 for port and polish. RM1XXX for cams, hehe.

Decisions, decisions.... Don't worry lots of us are still figuring which way to tune our engines, hehe.

deacon,

thanks firstly....i app all very much.About dropping in a MIVEC head sounds so good...but thats again costly to me.The head ,wiring ,ecu wud be enuf to get me like.....hmmm...thats to me hardcore mods already.Still waiting eagerly for some secret recipe's via this screen which is like not more than 1.5k(RM)hehe..so yea...hoping so

anyone here would wanna share experience after porting n polishing done on a stock standard engine and its diff made to ur engine after doing so?

satria81 said:
anyone here would wanna share experience after porting n polishing done on a stock standard engine and its diff made to ur engine after doing so?

well these are not my engines but here goes:

4g92 sohc wif 93 block. b4 pnp 105+hp on dyno dynamics. after pnp 120hp same dyno, wif increase in torque as well. biggest gain at about 6500rpm or so b4 rev cut at about 18hp! gains of at least 6-10hp throughout the chart..and this wif stock exhaust and a little tuning on the disty. pretty nice..

4g18 lancer wif 4g18 waja head(ported).this one was not as exciting. but still gains of 5hp throughout. and 20hp over stock wif fuel n ign tuning making it 100hp to the crank. biggest gains below 3500rpm...and all this through the standard cat to back....

all this good hp made by speedworks jb.

140db,

4g92 sohc wif 4g93 block....15% increase is kinda worth ...i wonder how much did speedworks charge for this?

Port and polish is a good way to spend 300 to RM500. I would get my engine balanced at the same time though, heh. One shot do both ;)

Satria81,

This is my engine spec.

Engine:

Port & polish head
1mm overbore 1.6 High compression pistons with 0.8mm metal gasket
- 11.8:1 CR
Three angle valve job
Fully balanced pistons , crankshafts and conrods
Overbore to 64mm mivec throttle body
Stainless steel cold air intake piping
Blitz air filter
Custom Scatter camshafts
4 new engine mounting
Pivot voltage stabilizer
Fuel regulator
J5 chip

Exhaust:

Powerzone tuned length extractor
2.5" full exhaust system

Gearbox:

Powerzone prototype lsd
Mivec 4.59:1 final drive
Slightly lightened flywheel
Powerzone quickshitf

Dyno tuning at Links Sunway revealed two power figures (depending whether I go for tork or bhp):

High Tork - 140WHP @ 7100 +-
- 210Nm @ 5000+-

High Power - 160WHP @ 7200+-
- 160Nm @ 5500+-

Hope you can look into my spec for some ideas in your plan. Iwill answer any questions from u base on my experince building my engine.

Rgds.

Dude that kinda job doesn't cost RM1500 hehe, trying to help this fella out with his budget that kinda job needs something like 3k plus plus right?

niceputera said:
Satria81,

This is my engine spec.

Engine:

Port & polish head
1mm overbore 1.6 High compression pistons with 0.8mm metal gasket
- 11.8:1 CR
Three angle valve job
Fully balanced pistons , crankshafts and conrods
Overbore to 64mm mivec throttle body
Stainless steel cold air intake piping
Blitz air filter
Custom Scatter camshafts
4 new engine mounting
Pivot voltage stabilizer
Fuel regulator
J5 chip

Exhaust:

Powerzone tuned length extractor
2.5" full exhaust system

Gearbox:

Powerzone prototype lsd
Mivec 4.59:1 final drive
Slightly lightened flywheel
Powerzone quickshitf

Dyno tuning at Links Sunway revealed two power figures (depending whether I go for tork or bhp):

High Tork - 140WHP @ 7100 +-
- 210Nm @ 5000+-

High Power - 160WHP @ 7200+-
- 160Nm @ 5500+-

Hope you can look into my spec for some ideas in your plan. Iwill answer any questions from u base on my experince building my engine.

Rgds.

Hi there,,,

How do you get two horsepower rating with your engine ? Is it bcoz of ECU tuning, or Cam tuning ? Very interesting though:regular_smile:

Niceputra,,very impress with your tourqe figure there,,main main question is how did you able to change those "tourque" within the same RPM ?? FYI my team also built 4g93 and Mivec engine,,but i think we never reach that figure.

Could you be more specific about the setup, what is your initial ignition timing like ? 10, 16, 20 ? From my experience, we can definetely get more horsepower than you , but we will lose it on the tourque. What is your cam spec if you dont mind telling, how many lift did you got ? Are you running on a 93 or GSR head,,any special valve you using ? Any "insight" you wanna share with me ?? Love your tourque figures though.

V8_nutter said:
Hi there,,,

How do you get two horsepower rating with your engine ? Is it bcoz of ECU tuning, or Cam tuning ? Very interesting though:regular_smile:

It was the cam tuning. I spend like more than RM1k just to tune on the dyno with total pulls of more than 100 times. Very costly but I did help a lot in my on the road tuning after that.

V8_nutter said:
Niceputra,,very impress with your tourqe figure there,,main main question is how did you able to change those "tourque" within the same RPM ?? FYI my team also built 4g93 and Mivec engine,,but i think we never reach that figure.

Could you be more specific about the setup, what is your initial ignition timing like ? 10, 16, 20 ? From my experience, we can definetely get more horsepower than you , but we will lose it on the tourque. What is your cam spec if you dont mind telling, how many lift did you got ? Are you running on a 93 or GSR head,,any special valve you using ? Any "insight" you wanna share with me ?? Love your tourque figures though.

"how did you able to change those "torque" within the same RPM ?? "

I think it more on the overall engine setup. I plan to build a high tork engine rather than a high power high rpm engine. At the 1st built, I got about slightly less than 150WHP at 7900 rpm and 150Nm at 6000++ (sorry forgot the exact point). But the peak rpm point drop to 7100+- after I put in 1 mm oversize pistons eventhough the power did increased. It basically applying the engine capacity to camshafts theory.

I was using (at 1st built) powerzone high torque cams but later switched to special made by Matspeed. I've been given the understanding by Charlie that he only made 3 of such similar cams. It was a scatter cams. It got 2 diff durations for the intake and one duration for exhaust. The duration and lift I can't tell u. That is promise that I have to keep. Hope u understand. The other two cams is being used by underground people that runs on the streets racing. Sometimes u can see one of it running at Sepang.Hint - A black satria 4 throttle that can score 13 sec sounds familiar?

I was running std 93 head and blok. I did not use any aftermarket valve spring coz it was expensive. But I did more job than just a 3 angle valve job to attract more air to pass the valve wiith higher velocity thus increasing the air volume in the cambustion chamber for better burning hence more power.

Rgds.

"Any "insight" you wanna share with me ?? "

No funny things inside the engine. But Charlie did apply some new technique on how to makesure the conrod bearings can withstand high rpm revving. I have yet to see the same technique being applied by other mechanics. Maybe because he is participating fulltime in the Super Sixteen thus all the experince gained helps.

But to be honest, people tend to concentrate on the exhaust system but forget about the complex of desiging the ultimate intake sytem. I got my "extra" by combining a tuned intake system, scatter camshafts and proper tuning. That basically differentiate my engine with other tuners in Malaysia.

I learned a lot from tuners from USA, Australia and Europe. Internet is a good tool I must admit.

Rgds.

"Love your tourque figures though."

Thanks. It was like driving a modded 2.5 six cylinder engine. Try driving 325 but with 1150kg instead 1500kg and you'll understand the response and the pulling power.

I've ran 300m with a putra that was specially prepared for drag. The car best scored at Sepang was 13.7 sec with fully striped car and slick tyre. I ran with just carbon fibre bonnet minus the car jack tools. Everything else std ( I was using evo 3 caliper and disk someore..heheh) and I comfortably at the back of the car bumper from start to finish. Oh yea I was using 195/15/50 Bridgestone G3 only. Was they impressed? U can count on it.

Many said 4g93p is not good. I said they have yet to discover the right way to tune it.

Rgds.